A Bad Review of J-hope’s Daydream

Ling Mok
4 min readMar 26, 2018

--

I have never been a BTS fan. I think it’s probably because I took a short break on kpop around late 2013-early 2014. I thought I was finally moving on from what I thought was a random stage in my life- Sorta like that pre-teen alternative rock/punk/emo phase everyone experiences in middle to highschool. But even though I have not kept up with BTS’s music over the years, I did notice their growth from We Are Bulletproof pt. 2 to DNA.

From what I remember, BTS got popular from their underdog position of being from a small company, yet voicing out problems in Korean society. A lot of their earlier songs dealt with school pressure, constant studying, and an overly linear life without dreams. With new-gain fame and popularity, of course means that people have to keep up with what’s trending. BTS’s music is more mainstream and experimental compared to their more hip-hop roots, but I still listen to them sometimes anyway.

Anywayyyyy, J-Hope released his first mixtape “Hopeworld”. I listened to “Daydream” by chance when I had Youtube on autoplay.

This song features a nice mix of bass and percussion with a catchy beat. The slight percussion mid-song, for some reason, reminds me of Final Fantasy X-2’s Zanarkand Ruins’ piano part. The random alarm clock parts is kinda off-putting because it legit sounds just like one of my alarms. Overall, the song is a nice listen.

What I like about the song:

  • The jingles at the beginning (very 3OH!3- Doublevision)
  • chorus is catchy
  • 1:28 and 2:58 sounds xylophone-y
  • The wordplay
  • husky monotone voice

In a lot of BTS songs that I listen to, J-Hope has the “wack lines”. Often times there are designated members in groups that are assigned these lines that can sound either annoying or weird: Dara from 2NE1 (r.i.p), Jiae from Lovelyz, Hyuk from Vixx, and Sehun from EXO to name a few. J-hope usually sounds very whiny, nasally, or plain weird. I guess either Bighit forces him to sound like that, or the song calls for a change of pace in vocals.

me debating on whether I should go to class or not. I have the most difficult time getting up ughhh

His hoarse voice throughout the song can actually sound irritating as it has this forced, rough texture most Korean rappers tend to adopt. But I actually like it here, and it is reminiscent of that dry throat/huskiness in our voices we get when we wake up. I know my throat sounds itchy when I wake up from my 4 year naps.

This song in general sounds like an extension to BTS’ old image of being trapped by societal norms/expectations, and breaking from them. J-Hope is instead trapped by his fame, his career- the career that ironically set him “free”.

orange-blue pallet comparison

I love the wide and spacious angle shots here. J-Hope looks so small in these rooms, yet he stands out so much. These parts in the video engender a lonely solitude that J-hope might be experiencing. Who knows?? Although it does feel like he’s in a theater, watching things and keeping track of his emotions through colors.

2:09-ish

What’s up with kpop videos having Western pop culture and literature references? Not that it’s a bad thing, but is it not a thing for Koreans to include Korean lit stuff? Actually, there 100% are Korean pop culture references in videos, I’m just not getting them because I’m American.

trippy

The “wish on a scar” part got me confused when I searched up the lyrics. There’s wordplay in the chorus with daydream and they dream. Wish on a star or wish on a scar??? I need answers.

I really like this song, and I will go ahead and listen to the rest of the songs in the mixtape. Daydream was released 25 days ago on Youtube, and I’m late to the game!!

--

--

Ling Mok

I’m not a koreaboo, but I really do appreciate all things that are kpop :)