cover of topic

Angular is not for everyone, and probably not for you

How Angular makes you hostage to its approach and prevents you from growing as a developer

Maksim Dolgikh
14 min readJan 10, 2024

--

For 2023, Team Angular has made a lot of important changes which were asked for by the community, and that’s insanely awesome. But it wasn’t always like this.

In this story, I’d like to tell you about my 4 years experience of using Angular.

First of all, I think Angular should not be your first technology to develop applications.

I want to highlight the problems which Angular creates and how they affect developers and team building. I will also try to give solutions to the problems I have identified if you already use Angular or want to use it.

Unfortunately, some teams or even companies are slow to upgrade for one reason or another, and you may find applications on Angular 8, 9 or 12. Therefore some of the issues outlined here can still be relevant.

If you are a junior developer, this article may also be useful for you and will help you with choosing your first development stack.

At the one moment, i may seem criticizing declarative approaches implemented by the Angular team — not at all. I don’t question that over time any low-level code becomes

--

--