Word of the Day Designs

Malachi E. Maynard
2 min readOct 11, 2021

--

A brief history of the works is as followed.

You can find the finished works on Instagram, and on my Dribbble account where you can exclusively request a word to later be designed. I hope you enjoy the journey of expanding your vocabulary visually.

How did Word of the Day come about:

Ever since I got my first Word of the Day Calendar years back, I always enjoyed learning new words as a writer. But as a designer, I never thought much of it at first. I started sharing these Word of the Day words at work and found others enjoyed learning something new too. It was a great conversation starter. So I made the decision to start using this to express unique designs. I enjoy layout design and the discoveries I come across while making my works.

Below I’ll give a little extra backstory to each design.

Image 1: After watching the Masterclass on Graphic Design with David Carson (which I recommend highly), I got inspired to play with the letters in the words. When I imported into Illustrator and started designing, I saw the potential in the negative space.

Image 2: After enjoying what came of my first design, I thought about a project that I worked on in the past under a different role. The project was called the Foodiecats. The Foodiecats has its own unique font and the playfulness of the font is what I enjoyed the most from that designer’s work. I wanted to experiment and play around there as well. This also was the first piece that I started using a color palette that I plan to continue down the line.

Image 3: After reading this definition I just knew what design I could make. I love drawing and well I wanted to figure a way to combine the different mediums/styles. So I did a quick sketch of some of the forms and thought to myself the words could in fact make up the sideburns. I debated on putting together a more refined head sketch, but there was something about the looseness of the lines in this sketch that I felt worked great with the words in the definition.

--

--

Malachi E. Maynard

I am a storyteller who uses my skills to connect people through the language of art. I believe the language of art is what can bridge communication barriers.