Hi, it’s me…again

Malavika Ramakrishnan
2 min readJul 30, 2023

--

this is me

I love writing. I think it’s the only thing I’ve ever really been good at, which didn’t seem good enough when I was growing up.

I couldn’t sing or dance. I mean I can, but it’s the drunk singing and dancing that I’m good at, not the classical stuff which was so admired when I was in school.

I’m not good at drawing although my imagination is great and I’m definitely not good at academics because I didn’t care enough to be better.

So writing is all I had and I think even my parents knew that I would build myself a career with my words. I’m doing this.

I’m a journalist! Not a proper one though because I don’t have a degree in it but I’m working on that.

I’ve tried my hand at blogging for years now and by try I mean enjoy periods of intense creativity where I’ll publish essays every week to periods of less productivity to absolutely nothing. I’m at the absolutely nothing stage right now.

Recently, a friend of mine told me “malu, I love your creative writing style so much, why don’t you write again?” and that really clicked in me. And just yesterday, another friend said “Just do it. Since you like writing so much just go on medium and write something”. And that clicked with me even more.

Am I being immodest if I say that I write quite well? That I like how I convey emotions and create stories? Yes?

Doesn’t matter. I’m good. I’m honest when I write. I’m not afraid of baring myself and talking about others. But mostly I’m happy when I write even if what I write about stems from pain and sadness.

So here I am.

Again.

Another platform, the same anxious but slightly funny personality.

Keep up with me. It’s going to be easy, I’m not a Kardashian

--

--