Magic: The Life of Earvin “Magic” Johnson by Roland Lazenby Book Review

Maliika Walker
2 min readNov 19, 2023

--

4 out of 5 stars

Magic: The Life of Earvin “Magic” Johnson by Roland Lazenby is the most comprehensive biography of Magic Johnson’s life from his youth through his final playing days with the Lakers I have ever read. I have read books and watched documentaries on Magic and never read so much detail about his junior high, high school, and college years than you get in this biography. The author does an excellent job of weaving the story of Magic’s role in calming race relations at his high school and his discomfort at first with the role he was forced into. The book honestly is two books in one. The Young Magic portion could be a young adult book that would inspire generations.

The author researched Magic lineage from the late 1790s to the present in fantastic detail. I was not expecting such information, but I appreciate this is included. Magic comes from a line of survivors, special people. I better understand who Magic’s parents are as people and how their differences made him the great man he is today.

The Laker years included some nuggets I didn’t know as well, but some other sections did feel repetitive. I was able to review the areas I knew quickly. I love Dr. Buss & Magic's relationship insights, but I also knew some of this information.

The book does include some information from his post-playing years and after his AIDS diagnosis, but not as much as the younger years of his life.

I highly recommend this book, but please know it is long and can feel that way sometimes, but it’s still a great read.

--

--

Maliika Walker

Welcome to my blog. I will share my thoughts on culture, music, sports, movies, you name it..