Common Questions for Pinoy

Dreaming_Object
2 min readMay 9, 2019

--

Hi. I currently work as a training engineer in a technology corporation. I have trained many batches of Pinoy workers. They asked me the same questions when they needed more information about their new environment. This is the main reason why I decided to write this blog. I want to share what I know here. Whenever they ask me the same questions, I’ll just share this link with them. I will update as soon as I can.

Get an EasyCard.

In Mandarin, it’s called “悠遊卡(You You Ka)”. You can also get an "iPass” card. They both are useful whenever you travel by public transportation in Taiwan. In addition, you can pay by this card in convenience stores.

My own EasyCard.

Where to buy?

  • You can buy it in a convenience store, such as 7-eleven, family mart, MRT stations, etc.
  • You can say, “I want “yo-yo ka”, please.” to the clerk. It’s 100 NT dollars.
  • Store some value on the card, and then you can start using it!

If you are interested in more information about EasyCard or iPass, please go check their official website.

Download a Bus/Train Tracker.

There are many kinds of apps that help you check when the bus/train will come. Just go search for the one you think it’s handy. The one I’m using is “Bus+”. I personally like its design, and it has an English version.

You can check the public bike, MRT Map, Taiwan Railway, and also set your favorite stops or stations. It can guide you home by public transport.

If you see the Chinese version after you download it, don’t worry! I’m here to tell you how to change the setting.

Follow the steps to do the setting, and you will see the English version.

--

--

Dreaming_Object

Graduate Student. Former Training Engineer. Dreaming, singing, and listening to music are my hobbies.