My First Article On Medium and I Didn’t Use ChatGPT

Malika Staar
3 min readSep 9, 2023

With all the hype around using ChatGPT and other AI tools that will write our content for us, I am wonder if I can still be relevant if I used my brain to actually write my first article on Medium.

I have been reading articles for over one year now on this platform and honestly, it really is hard to tell whose shooting straight from the hip and using their passion to write to produce their articles verses those pulling from the latest and greatest AI tools. The articles that are most fascinating are the ones where the author tells you to use AI to write your content, then place it on a platform where you can earn thousands of dollars in just minutes after posting it. While I am not knocking anyone’s hustle, because the good Lord knows, I could use an explosion of cash in my pocket as I sit here and write. I just want to see if true authentic stories still matter to readers.

This is just my little experiment to see if I could hold the attention of the reader without having #ChatGPT as my crutch. At the end of this post, I hope I can get a “clap” and an a comment…good or some tips for improvement would be sincerely appreciated. I believe that great writing comes from the gut or heart and sometimes I question can AI bring my personality into the content I need to create to make you come back for more.

I must admit that I have downloaded the app and paid the $49 yearly subscription to have this tool at my side. I find it extremely helpful when researching topics that I have very little knowledge of. Yet, I still find that I have to take that content and make it my own. Which is why for my introduction to this space, I decided to just write from the top of my head, in hopes you find it appealing enough to come back and read whatever else pops off the top of my head.

I have a lot to talk about…

  1. Earning money and raising kids as a single mom.
  2. Teaching others who are not writers, but have good ideas and are experts at what they do, how to write eBooks and make money.
  3. There are no short cuts in life…no matter what you choose to do to earn money, nothing is earned without effort and energy. Even the person who one the lottery still had to think of the right numbers, go to the store, stand in line, and pay for the ticket.
  4. How to navigate dating again after divorce, while raising two children, whose father just transitioned to glory.

The list goes on. Maybe I will ask ChatGTP for some help. But for right now, I simply just wanted to introduce myself without the fluff.

Hi, I am Malika Staar. I am best known for my book, “Now That I Know Better”, which is my deep dive into the reality of life’s best learned lessons. I spent the first of half of my life fumbling the ball. I made some of the craziest decisions. But I learned to navigate through the setbacks and disappointments, and I give the reader some strategies on how to move passed their hurt and disappointments as well. I talk about dating, dealing with death, and desire to just do “better” in life.

I am also the founder of The Power of Two Marketing Services, LLC, which is also the parent company for MaliStaar Publishing, LLC. It started out as a hobby, writing personal marketing material, such as resumes and bios for clients prior to the age of AI. While honestly, I have not made millions from it yet, it has been a great passive income. I will be the first to admit, as a single mom, you need all the extra income you can get.

I hope that you will follow me, as I take a deeper dive into my shenanigans of raising teenagers, working a full-time job, while building a dynasty doing what I love to do the most…pouring my heart on to the pages of life.

Next time, I will have some strategies on how I juggle it all without losing my mind, and making a passive income while I do it.

If you like what I have written, please leave a comment or a clap. Follow me if you want real stories from a real person, because the messages will only get better.

Thank you and have a great rest of your day or evening.

--

--

Malika Staar

Welcome to my world of all things to know better about. I am the self-published author of Now That I Know Better & mom of 6.