The Fall of the DC Extended Universe

Malike Chris Sizer
4 min readOct 6, 2018

A small outburst as a fan of superheroes.

I was waking up a bit late last week when I practiced my usual routine for the morning consisting of brushing my teeth, showering and all the cliche hygienic details. I had checked Twitter on my phone, as I usually do, when I happened to see that Henry Cavill was the top trending topic that hour. For those of you not in the know these days, Cavill is currently the actor playing the iconic Man of Steel in the most recent DC films you’ve seen. I couldn’t of possibly guessed what Cavill was trending for exactly at the time, but I definitely knew it was for something Superman-related.

I clicked on his name…only to find that the actor was recently revealed to possibly be retiring from the role of the iconic superhero. Now, this set me back for about four minutes or so, before I realized that things on DC’s side of things were about to dramatically change.

First, let me give some context first.

DC and Marvel, the studios that brought you Iron Man, Captain America and the greatest superhero of all time, Spider-Man (can’t forget the hyphen), have been perpetually competing since their respective inceptions. In the past decade, this rivalry has transcended to movies and cartoons extensively as well. Indisputably, Marvel has been winning the war in the movies department…

--

--

Malike Chris Sizer

Aspiring writer with big dreams. Hoping to reach people through my genuine experiences.