Rabi
2 min readMay 14, 2024
Tulip (1708–1709). Original from the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.

If everything around seems dark, look again, you may be the light. – Rumi

The act of complaining is something that never ends, the act of waiting is something that never ends, the act of resisting is something that never ends, and the act of believing is something that never ends.

Four different attitudes, perceptions, behaviors, and states but all have one thing in common: ‘It never ends.’

Now if I know that I have four options and must choose one of them, then which one should I pick?

Isn’t it hard to pick? Especially between resisting and believing?

But I know what I need.

I am going to choose: ‘believing.’

And you know what I am going to believe?

I am going to believe that I am the ‘light.’

I am going to believe that I am the light that I was looking for to illuminate everything that surrounds me.

I am going to believe that I am the light that the cosmos was waiting for to come out of its black hole.

I am going to believe that I am the light that the sun was waiting to be merged with.

I am going to believe that I am the light that the moon kept boasting to the stars about.

I am going to believe that I am the light that has come to transform me and the world around me.

Trust me, I am not into deception and neither falling for pride.

I am simply trying to present to you what was always meant to be presented.

I am simply here to tell myself and you that we are the ones who carry the power strong enough to bring the world back to peace.

We are the ones who carry secrets deep enough to gather the lost sparrows and bring them back to their untroubled nests.

We are the ones who carry the pain amassed enough to feel and understand the atrocities around us.

I write because we are the ones who have witnessed smiles sublime enough that we can spend our lives preserving them.