If I looked into God’s eyes, what color would it be?

Mamiya Ajero
4 min readNov 3, 2020

--

It was just like any other day, the day before and the days that came before it.

So was my routine. It was just like any other day. I get up, get ready, and drive myself to work.

I squinted as I went out of the door. The sun was up, but it had not bothered me in the slightest. Signs of a change in season is apparent and the glares of the desert sun was not as harsh as it used to.

Into my car I went and I had only briefly left the house when I heard a constant sound of a cat meowing. It sounded like the cat was hurt and that made me shudder. I allowed myself to think that he may be in the bonnet of my car. He probably is, and a flutter of panic was rising inside me. I immediately stopped my car. And in the middle of the paved road, too. Ah, how crass and unsafe.

I squinted again as I got out. When will I ever get used to the sun? I fumbled for the latch and opened the bonnet. And there he is! Small, scrawny white kitten with streaks of orange in his head and his tail. I assume he is a he, just because my gut tells me that he is. It looked like he just woke up and was squinting from the sun, just like me. He may had been sleeping comfortably on top of the engine when I switched it on and drove. Poor kitten. Interrupted sleep is not my thing either.

I wanted to grab him quickly and go to work. I hesitated, and he was shuddering a little and was meowing so bad. Time was ticking and I was running late, but this cat had other plans so he bolted away from my reach before I could even decide if I should stretch out my arm and grab him or just shoo him away.

Cars were passing me, curious of what mishap I may have gotten myself into. I moved my car into the curb to ease up the road. Three kind men approached me and helped me look for the kitten that may probably be stuck in the bottom of the engine now. He was screaming down there and again my panic has gone up a few notches. I switched off the engine. He went quiet too, and I thought a hundred other thoughts of the poor cat getting his limb or his paw stuck in somewhere. I tried hard to calm down and not overthink. I squirted some water as my tatay had instructed me over the phone. The cat meowed (screamed, more like) and seemed to tell me that he did not like to be splashed with water.

I went around and around the bonnet of my car trying to look for the tiny kitten. I tried to call him and was hoping he would respond and come to me (but he is a cat and they don’t do that). After a few more tries, me and the kitten finally met eye to eye. We stared at each other for what seemed like a full second. Time seemed to have slowed. And then I saw it — in its depths were the color of gray clouds wrapped in silver. It was shining like liquid mercury. It seemed to speak to me in great waves and in great billows. But like the passing of the clouds, like the flicker of a fire, it had lasted only for a moment. The kitten had scrambled again inside, away from the rays of the sun and the shadow I cast.

Another kind man approached me and tried looking for the cat too. He came with a stick and prodded the kitten to get down to safety. The kitten constantly attempted to go back into the engine where he may have found some comfort from the sun and the wind. When I finally had the chance to safely drive away, from the rearview mirror I saw the kitten chasing after me. I am very fond of cats, but this one was unique. I’ve never had a cat run after me before. It was all very unusual. I went on my way and tried not to think about it.

A few kilometers in, and in the distance I saw blaring blue and red lights. Police. In daytime? I thought. A bit of traffic was building, much like when I was looking for the kitten in my bonnet. Curious eyes were around them. A white and green ambulance was there too. Blue and red lights. And behind it was a car with its bonnet crushed along the side of the road. A road accident. The vehicles passing did not linger and drove away. I did, too. It was all very unusual. I went on my way and tried not to think about it. I sighed. A sigh of concern, a sigh of relief. A sigh of gratitude.

If I looked into God’s eyes, what color would it be?

The color of the sunset?

The color of the rain?

The color of coffee in the morning?

The color of the small things we overlook?

The color of the vehicle that had crashed?

The color of the eyes of someone you loved when you looked at them for the last time?

The color of gratitude?

The color hope?

The color of life.

If I looked into God’s eyes, what color would it be?

--

--