Review: Falling for Christmas

Lindsay Lohan is back! But was it worth the wait?

Mandi Kaye Sorensen
2 min readNov 19, 2022

Starring: Lindsay Lohan & Chord Overstreet
Directed By: Janeen Damian
Written By: Jeff Bonnett & Ron Oliver
Available On: Netflix

I’ve been a fan of Lindsay Lohan since The Parent Trap, but I must admit my very favorite LiLo flick was Freaky Friday.

Lindsay Lohan, Jamie Lee Curtis, AND Chad Michael Murray? PLUS a few bops? YES.

So yes, dear reader. I’d been waiting for this one all year. Falling for Christmas was first announced in January, and I was instantly certain I would love it. Lindsay Lohan’s return to film in my absolute favorite genre? YES, PLEASE!

Sadly, when I tuned in on November 10th, I was disappointed.

Besides being basically the same plot as Overboard set at Christmas (except that this time, the hunky man didn’t know who the amnesiac lead was), the writing was just… lackluster. There was no joie de vivre. I didn’t find myself just grinning goofily at the screen.

Lohan’s socialite Sierra was less snotty than you would expect in a movie about finding change and the spirit of Christmas. The change she underwent wasn’t earned and was definitely not developed. It was formulaic, but it wasn’t well executed.

Chord Overstreet was your average single dad running his late wife’s cozy inn that gets all decked out for Christmas. Bonus points for all of the flannel. And the trucker hat.

Overall, I give this one 2/5 mistletoes. I will not watch it again.

Rating: 2 out of 5 Mistletoes

--

--