Kostis Maninakis
2 min readJul 6, 2017

--

There are some truly impressive designs in this list! đź‘Ź

I believe that recruiters have too little time to spend per applicant, and thus a personal website needs to get straight to the point. It needs to leave a memorable, outstanding impression straight away and offer any and all additional info recruiters need, right in front of them.

Most people’s memory is visual and at the same time associative. So, for example in my case, I expect a recruiter to think of me as something like “ah yes, that guy with the fancy changing background website”. This is what I mean by outstanding, just building something that stands out from the pack. This doesn’t mean you have to approach it like a skill showfloor, crammming in all the “cool tricks” you can think off. Leave that for your github account and let your personal website do best what it’s meant to do: succinctly communicate info on who you are and why someone should hire you instead of others.

Just to add to the list, here’s how I approached my personal page, with a minimalist, yet fancy design.

(Screenshots don’t do it justice really. There’s lots of little things going on in there including an animating background gradient ✌)

maninak.github.io

Thank you for your attention.

--maninak

--

--

Kostis Maninakis

I enjoy writing about code, entrepreneurship, life and anything in between. https://maninak.com