Uber UX Case Study

Manish Prajapati
7 min readJul 8, 2023

People book cabs closest and faster on Uber.

1. Introduction to How I take up the challenge of UX design.

I am always learning new things in the design field because every day, something new emerges in this field, and I have always been curious about it, learning, practicing, and applying it in my work. I know UX design is totally different from UI design, and I learn and read blogs related to UX design, but I often think about something that is missing in my knowledge about UX design. Whenever I create any product design, I understand its fundamental use, but I do not feel confident as a designer, and I have not used the titles of UX/UI designer.

Therefore, I joined UX Anudeep 2-week Kickstarter Workshop to learn UX Design. In this workshop, I learned a lot of new things about UX Design, such as UX Design Fundamental Principles, Nielsen’s 10 Heuristic principles. Although I know Figma very well, UX Anudeep provided us with guidance on how to build a UI in Figma, and I also learned animation.

After that, UX Anudeep gave us one task and promised, “whenever you guys complete this task I will be sure your mind is very sure you become a UX Designer to solve any product problem.” Personally, these two exercises, Making Existing Products Better and the UX Kickstarter Design Challenge, changed my mind and unlocked something that was missing as a Designer.

2. My final solution.

In this section, I talk about comparing the original screen and redesigned the screens before and after usability testing.

Original Screen
Redesign screen before usability testing
Redesign screen after usability testing

Here, I discuss how redesign benefits the user.

In the final solution, I gave the Nearest Tab button with miles and hours because users can easily find the nearest and fastest cab.

Here, I discuss how redesign benefits the Business.

Here, use the active user's metrics principle because increase users, that means This feature helps the business with more and more users using the app daily.

3. I selected the app and the screens/flow.

Learning from existing design

In this exercise, I learn that the main point is to observe any mobile app or website and find my own perspective by thinking and answering questions. I learned to understand User Experience Design in layman’s terms.

I have used the same method in this app, such as an observer app, to find pain points, jot down all my questions, and try to solve those questions in my own way.

Business Impact of UX Design
Business Impact of UX Design

In this exercise, I learned about the Business Impact of UX Design and understood how I can create and enhance screens to maximize business impact. This exercise taught me how to impact businesses by creating a measurable impact through design.

I selected these screens because they enable users to interact with the app more flexibly and efficiently. As a result, users can engage with the app more frequently, which helps the business attract more daily users.

4. How did I evaluate the app screens, and what were the problems I identified?

User Centric Design

In this exercise, I Learned user centric design from existing UX Design. I started thinking and jotting down common sense answering questions. I used and applied the heuristic principle in the cab selection screen.

Step 1 — Identifying an app and evaluating it

Heuristic principles are a set of thumb that humans often use to make decisions or solve problems in a more efficient manner.

Here I found Problems in this screen identified through Heuristic principles.

Problem identified:

1 On this screen the user can’t change the route. Heuristic — Flexibility and efficiency of use.

2 Users are unable to see the distance/kilometers between two locations through a route. Heuristic — Visibility of system status.

3 User cannot click and select among the available cab drivers on this map area, they cannot access the driver profile card or see the cab cost.

5. How did I come up with ideas, and what solutions should be given priority?

Here I mentioned three common sense ideas, and then I had discussed with my colleagues and improvise those ideas.

Idea 1: In this screen, the local user can change route because Users' knowledge of the area can take shortcuts and rides a particular route and save time.

Idea 2: Can we Provide a click and section options each cab image on the map so User can select own chooses a vehicle driver?

Idea 3: Provide a nearest button so Users can Select nearest cab driver.

Based on the conversation I had with my colleagues, I decided to go ahead with Idea. Idea 3: Provide a nearest button so Users can Select nearest cab driver. I selected idea no. 3 because the user mainly thing the book cab and reached the selected location. I want to give the users an easy option that can save them time and get them where they need to go quickly such as by booking the nearest cab.

6. I did my ideas into low-fidelity prototypes.

How did I learn from the “Low-fidelity Prototyping” workbook I used.

When I selected idea no 3 and then I started to create a low fidelity wireframe on the paper. After that I clicked a photo drawing of the wireframe and uploaded in Figma then I created low-fidelity paper prototypes using the Figma desktop app.

7. I designed a high-fidelity prototype in real time.

high fidelity prototype (UI screen)
high fidelity prototype (UI screen)

Already I know User interface design very well, I do, so it is not difficult to create real time world high fidelity User interface design and Prototyping. I added the nearest tab button on the redesign screen so users can click this button and show all nearest cab or vehicle list view on the screen.

How it benefits the user?

Write according to the fundamental UX principles: Users can easily find a car from the nearest location and book it. Currently, lifestyle is so fast and this is the reason users find the nearest taxi on the location because, Users Hurry up, reach out target location and when he/she booked cab normally there is mention can arrive in 5 to 10 min but it is not possible and users can frustrate and waiting until the cab is not coming at the location. That’s why I have added the Nearest Tab button because users can easily find the nearest cab. The nearest Tab button option will give users the Flexibility and efficiency to Cab Book faster and nearest location.

8. Usability testing.

I have completed my final UI designs, and the screen is ready; therefore, after I went to meet my peer and colleague and asked him to please test my final high-fidelity wireframe and give me feedback on it, they gave me some points so I could understand their points and work on anything that could be improved in.

Insights got from Usability Testing:

1 The user is able to understand the Newarest button.

2 The user is able to determine which taxi will arrive at my destination the quickest or closest.

9. After Usability Testing redesign and improved designs.

Final redesign and improved designs.

I added the nearest tab button on the redesign screen so users can click this button and show all nearest cab or vehicle list view on the screen. In this design I added two details such as Km and Time adobe the rupee text.

9. Key Learnings.

I have completed the course of 2 weeks Kickstarter Workshops, and I passed through these 2 weeks of amazing. I have also gained valuable opportunities to enhance my skills, gain knowledge, and explore new areas of UX Design. This is possible because of UX Anudeep’s Kickstarter workshop.

Thank you 😊

--

--

Manish Prajapati

I love to create beautiful things, I mainly work on UI/UX designing of Web and Mobile applications creating interfaces, products, and campaigns.