How to write good test cases

manju pathak
2 min readDec 7, 2019

--

A Test Case is a set of conditions or variables under which a tester will determine whether a system under test satisfies requirements or works correctly.

When I started my career in the field of testing I don’t have knowledge about how to write test case. I only write the possible scenario which was tested during the testing but this is the bad practice which I was doing.

I faces many problem while writing the test cases because without writing the test case if we proceed for testing then many of the scenarios you gonna left which are most important for the testing process.

Test cases always includes positive as well as negative scenario.

Test case contains following components:

  1. Test case ID
  2. Test Name
  3. Objective
  4. Status

Test Name contains the feature of the test i.e. it states that which feature will be tested. e.g. create customer account specifies the account creation of customer irrespective of create account.

I always write the test cases first which includes positive and negative scenario before going to start testing.

Writing the test cases before starting the testing is good practice as it covers all the scenarios what have to be tested and what outcome should be obtained.

Through test cases we can check that the expected result should be equal to actual result. When you start doing testing by the

So from my opinion test cases should be written before we go to test the feature.

--

--