Esthetic Em (they/she)
4 min readSep 5, 2023

--

Queer Media Geared Towards Teens — What Does it Mean?

Heartstopper is a piece of queer media that uniquely represents queerness through a lens that gives a nod to hopes of true love, self-authenticity, and chosen family.

When I was first introduced to Heartstopper by the internet, I was a bit apprehensive about wanting to watch the TV series. It was yet another piece of queer media that was white-centric and unrealistic to my experiences as a queer person. Or, at least that was what I thought during my initial impression. My mind instantly changed when I gave the show a chance and paid attention to some of the themes I connected with. I crave more queer representation centered around Blackness and media celebrates the joy of Black queer Love. And not Black queer Love that lands the Black character with someone of a different race. We deserve to see our people having a genuine love for one another, in the same way, Nick and Charlie do in the mainstream.

Source: Seventeen Magazine

The other day, I was on the phone with one of my really good friends and we landed on the topic of queer Media. We had both recently watched Season Two of Heartstopper and took a moment to process it. One of the things I shared was that I really connected with this generation of teenagers finally getting the chance to view genuine queer Love. Mostly due to the fact that it isn’t solely a representation based on being an adult and the experiences that come with it. Instead, they are able to watch stories that remind them of their peers or themselves.

I thought back to when I was a teenager and was exploring my queer identity through the media. I had shows and movies like Noah’s Arc (2005–2006), Queer As Folk (2000–2005), and a few others to get a glimpse at what queerness could look like as a queer adult. Specifically thinking about the inclusion of heavy drug use, alcohol intake, parties, and overt sexual activity, that was all that was available at the time. Though the themes within these pieces of media did provide a safe space to explore my queerness, there were key themes I was searching for. What was missing were the elements related to coming of age. I’m thinking about teens making mistakes over poor decisions, getting their first heartbreak, and having to navigate the harsh world outside of their four high school walls. Queer media that centers on the adult experience doesn’t have those elements or at least does not showcase them to teens in a way that seems achievable.

Shows like Heartstopper, Love Victor, Heartbreak High, Sex Education, and Atypical are all recent examples of how sexuality in teens can be relatable, yet dramatic. Is the relationship between Charlie and Nick almost picture-perfect? To a degree, yes, but it’s deeper than that. Nick has shown his love for Charlie extends more than just the good moments, but also the bad as he has come to realize Charlie has PTSD from when he was bullied. You see, Charlie was forced out of the closet before he was ready and faced a ton of backlash from his peers considering he was the first student who was open about their queer identity. Throughout the first and second seasons, you see Charlie try to mask this experience by focusing on his relationship with Ben, and eventually, Nick. While on their school trip to Paris, Nick began to notice some distinct changes in Charlie's behavior and grew concerned. This was in addition to realizing that he really has love for Charlie and their relationship.

Heartstopper is a perfect showcase of what a healthy, authentic relationship that is built on the foundations of love, healing, and trust can look like. Even considering the fact that they are both high school students who have experienced very little life outside of their spheres of influence. It’s amazing being able to appreciate content that centers teens in a way that doesn’t seem forced or disconnected from what an actual teen experience could be like, especially through the lens of a queer teen.

Although I desperately crave queer content that is centered around the Black queer experience, I can find joy in the queer media we are given today. This is solely because it allows me to still process the queer experience and what I most want out of it; A holistic space fueled with love, passion, and authenticity.

--

--

Esthetic Em (they/she)

Drag Entertainer & Higher Education Professional with a background in Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies.