Dear Presidential Candidates, There’s life after retirement

Shaun
4 min readJun 28, 2024

When the volume had to be turned up, the writing was on the wall

The stage looked fine. The moderators seemed at ease. I wonder if anyone else was curious as to why Jake Tapper had two mugs. I also wonder if it was an optical illusion or if his mugs really were slightly larger than the one near Dana Bash.

Drinking vessel peculiarities aside, the recent presidential debate was a deeply concerning event.

Seeing two men who could seemingly enjoy their golden years free of the financial hardships faced by so many, who instead strive to spend another four years in what is often called the hardest job in the world is perplexing. Is it not?

Seeing two men in their later years who are seemingly surrounded by close-knit, loving families when many don’t share that fate, who instead strive to spend another four years in what is often called the hardest job in the world is perplexing. Is it not?

I won’t try to analyze the debate. Others can do a far more thorough job at that kind of thing than I can. Nor will I endeavor to speak to the motivations of the candidates. I rarely know what compels me to do one thing or another, so far be it for me to speculate on what prompts others to do what they do. Instead, I…

--

--