Precious Bond: From Heart to Heart”

Manu Singhal
2 min readJun 29, 2023

--

This is the English version of the poem I wrote originally in Hindi.
Hindi version you can check here.

That moment, in that very instance that I kept longing for,
Today, it lives within my heart so young.
When, where, and how shall I ask,
Every moment, every instance, where you were, in what place.
That moment, in that very instance that I kept yearning for.

You held me in between your arms,
I kept mesmerizing, where was I and where were you.
Every moment, every instance you gave me,
I lived in every way, through countless lives.
That moment, in that very instance that I kept yearning for.

Today, you are young again in my heart.
I long for you as waves crave the sea.
I bloomed again, ever since I’ve been with you.
May your pains be mine, Mother, all I want is you to smile.
It is from you that I am, it is to you that I go.
Let me walk before you, though I tread upon your steps.

That moment, in that very instance that I kept longing for,
Today, you are young again in my heart.
That moment, in that very instance, Mother, it’s you I kept yearning for.
In between your arms, embrace me, Mother.”

— Manu Singhal

Recall the moments you have spent with your mother to date. The way she took care of you even before your birth, the way she fed you, bathe you, took a stand for you, taught you how to stand (for yourself) and when. The moments she scolded you, for your own good, with the best of her intentions and capacity without any return expectation. Now read the poem again, I am sure it’ll be a different journey this time.

--

--

Manu Singhal

Staff Engineer @Mammoth Analytics | Fullstack | Distributed Systems | Databases | BITS Pilani