Nurturing Guru-Shishya tradition through yoga

Manushreya Sharma
2 min readJul 3, 2023

--

I don’t have a lot of pictures with my teachers but this illustration sums it up for me

Guru Brahma Guruvishnu Gurudevo Maheshwarah

Guru Sakshat Param Brahma tasmai Sri Gurave Namah

Guru Purnima or Teacher’s Day are not the only two days to revere one’s guru in life. I have been fortunate to have teachers who had a long-lasting impact on me all throughout my life and they continue to inspire me with their acts and words to date. In our modern-day world, the teacher and student relationship has undergone a tremendous change. However, the bond between a guru and shishya still remains evident when it comes to yoga abhyasa although the nature of this bond might have changed over the years.

In her famous speech, Geeta Iyengar shares the meaning of guru. Gu is darkness and Ru is light. Guru is the one who leads us from darkness to light. They are the ones who show the light, who show the path. The Guru is the one who opens the eyes of awareness of the shishya — the pupil. Light is always there, but it is covered by darkness. Jnana (knowledge) is always there, but Ajnana (ignorance) covers it. The Guru comes to the rescue of the shishsya to help remove the veil over Jnana. The Guru is the one who uplifts the shishya, purifies and clears the pupil’s intellect so that it may reveal the truth. It is true that the Sadhaka has to tread the spiritual path to self-realization alone, the Guru is essential to show the right path, and to safeguard the pupil while he follows it.

Guru does not hold your hand all the time but is always there as a guide. They change the very flow of tendencies in the shishya by sowing the seed of spirituality. The Guru gives love and knowledge and nurtures the chitta of the pupil so that it gravitates towards Abhyasa (practice), and Vairagya (desirelessness, detachment) to recognize the soul — the Atman.

Remembering all my teachers who taught me inside as well as outside the classroom today. I am a product of all the lessons you inculcated. My humble pranaam to you. Wherever you are, I hope you are doing well and god’s grace is with you. Happy Guru Purnima.

--

--

Manushreya Sharma

Yoga Practioner. Journalist cum Creative Writer. Reader. Amateur Artist. Blogger. Plant enthusiast.