My TIIDELab Experience 3.0: The Month of September

Musa Muhammad Mansur
4 min readOct 12, 2021

--

Hello there, my lovely readers, It’s that time of the month again to share my experience with TIIDELab for the month of September.

The road to self-reliance is nevertheless an intriguing and hard one. We were able to finish JavaScript this month all thanks to Mr Kenny. We learned about synchronous and asynchronous functions, as well as how to use async and await callbacks. This month also marked the end of our Data Structure and Algorithms lessons (DSA). We discovered the importance of arrays and linked lists in data structures. various data structures and algorithms’ time and space complexity

With the ideas we learned, we were able to make progress on our group project named Maverick Digital Stores and add some functionality to our website spanning across many pages. It had been a month of nonstop drilling and I'm really glad we could put in the work and implement these things we learnt.

Soft skills lessons are a crucial part of the path to self-reliance, and I look forward to them every time. I’ve learned a lot from Mr. Adeoju Shamsudeen, whom I fondly refer to as “Big Brother,” and other guest speakers on topics ranging from Design Thinking, in which we were drilled on ideation, prototyping, and testing user-friendly products, to Problem Solving, Creating Thinking, and Teamwork, we also learnt the SWAT, SMART and PEST analysis of Critical thinking.. We also participated in some intriguing head of house challenges, in which fellows compete for weekly leadership of the house in order to enhance our leadership abilities; it really was a combination of energy, excitement, and fun.

Our physical gatherings took place on October 1st, 2021, Nigeria’s Independence Day. It was a cultural day at meet-up, and we all dressed up in our local attires. Dr. Roy Chikwem, The day’s guest speaker from Australia lectured extensively on the issue of cross-cultural values in every clime in which an individual finds himself or herself. He discussed cultural differences and how essential it is to learn and respect other people’s cultures while still being proud of your own. It was a fascinating and energizing seminar.

Dr. Roy Delivering his lecture

We concluded the meeting by simulating the Nigerian National Assembly, with Lagos colleagues representing the lower chamber(House of Representatives) and Abuja fellows representing the upper chamber(The Senate).
I represented Niger south senatorial district, I was then nominated for the Senate President’s position, which I then campaigned for and spoke out my manifesto for before the election, which I won against my honorable colleague Josiah Andrew.

Deliberations on the Insecurity situations in Nigeria with respect to our consistencies and then proffering of possible solutions to mitigate insecurity across the federation. The Resolution that was passed by Me being the Senate President ​was Decentralizing the police system, Providing better welfare and sophisticated weapon to security personnel.

L-R Victor Samuel, Adeyemi, Pamela Odeh, Abdulrahman Afaraetu, My Humble self, Odenike Hibatullah, Daniel Effiong and Musa Opaluwa.

We also began the Mentorship program this month. Mr Ibrahim Dauda (A Software and DevOps Engineer at the Emirates Group) and I met with other Mentees. He is a fascinating individual with a wealth of expertise. It was simple to share our problems with him, and he is always ready to provide answers.

My communication abilities have increased throughout the months, owing to TIIDELAB’s contribution to my overall development.
I’d want to take this opportunity to thank NECA and the ITF for their ongoing support of Fellows’ development. I want to also sincerely appreciate my Coding partner Okoroji Victor and my Team members; Taiwo Momoh, Abdulrahman Afaraetu, Salihu Abdulhamid, Oyelami Temidayo, Elizabeth Ojesanmi, Damilola Bello, Yusuf Abdulmuiz.

Thank you for reading through, I look forward to keeping you updated with more experiences till the end of the Fellowship.

Also don’t forget to follow me on Twitter, LinkedIn, and Github. Your interactions are so valuable to me.

Gracias😊😊

--

--