CS373 Spring 2022: Mara Manskie

Mara Manskie
2 min readFeb 13, 2022

--

Blog #4

What did you do this past week?

This week was a busy week for me, especially at the beginning of the week. I had to create paper prototypes for an assignment in my HCI class and had to finish the Collatz project. Towards the end of the week, I had to start relearning Javascript for the next section of my HCI project.

What’s in your way?

I expect this week to be better than last week in terms of workload. The only thing slowing me down right now is having to relearn Javascript and finish a checkpoint for a project in another class by Wednesday.

What will you do next week?

I anticipate that the new project for this class will be released this week so I expect to work and will continue working on my Javascript app interaction for HCI.

What did you think of Paper #4: Pair Programming?

I have read papers similar to this one about the benefits of pair programming in the past, especially while I was in CS 439 (with Norman). I think paired programming is extremely useful and important to ensure that the code that is written is of the highest quality.

What was your experience of exceptions and types?

I have briefly dealt with exceptions in the past but learned quite a bit from the lectures we had about them this week. I was unfamiliar with the behavior of exceptions in a parent/child relationship before this week, so that was interesting to learn. I have dealt with Python types from previous projects and assignments I have done in Python for classes and internships.

What made you happy this week?

The weather was warmer for most of the week so I got to go on walks during the day and spend more time outside with friends. I also finally ordered Super Smash Bros Ultimate for my Switch and I am super excited to start playing it when I have more time.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

During my internship this summer, my mentor had lots of knowledge about books and resources to use to be a better programmer and team member. The reading this week briefly touched on it as well. I think The Ten Commandments of Egoless Programming is something that every CS major, especially when utilizing paired programming, should know about. Here is a link describing them: https://blog.codinghorror.com/the-ten-commandments-of-egoless-programming/

--

--