Jasmine

Marya Ahmad
3 min readJun 5, 2023

--

God’s Gift & Eternal Love

The word Jasmine comes from the Persian word “Yasmeen” which means “Gift from God.” Across various cultures and traditions it is a symbol of beauty.

I am certain that South Asians reading this will feel a deep nostalgia associated with the scent of Jasmine. It is a flower often found in the gardens of our relatives, sold by street vendors in the form of garlands and bangles, and intertwined with joyous occasions like weddings.

The significance of the Jasmine flower in my brand Gujariya, holds immense personal meaning for me, and I truly hope that others can connect with it as well. The aroma of Jasmine evokes cherished memories from my childhood, reminding me of the unbreakable bond shared by my grandparents and symbolizing eternal love.

Every morning, my Nana would gather fresh Jasmine for his beloved wife, a tradition he faithfully continued until her passing, even when she couldn’t open her eyes anymore. We don’t know exactly when we lose our sense of smell before death, but my Nana ensured she had her favorite flower with her until her very last breath.

My mom had discovered a special Jasmine oud fragrance for her, which she adored and wore every day. I remember applying that scent to her, even on the day she passed away while in hospice care at home.

Fragrance of Love

To honor their memory and profound love, I wore the same fragrance on my wedding day, signifying the everlasting connection I share with my husband, Iskander. During my Nikkah ceremony, the divider we had was made solely of strands of Jasmine. It felt as if my Nana and Nani were right there with me, supporting and guiding me into the next beautiful phase of my life.

My veil says “Nana Nani ki Gujariya”

Brand Identity

That’s precisely why the Jasmine flower is incorporated into every piece of Gujariya and holds such a vital role in our brand. Eternal love is the most extraordinary and precious thing we can experience, and it is essential to constantly remind ourselves of its existence. Whether it’s the love between spouses or partners, between sisters or best friends, or the special bond between mothers, daughters, and grandmothers, it holds an indescribable significance.

Through Gujariya, I aim to capture the essence of the Jasmine flower and what it represents to me personally. It will be intricately woven into our clothing, accessories, and every other aspect of the brand, serving as a beautiful reminder of eternal love and the extraordinary moments it encompasses.

Celebrations in Heaven

The bond between my Nana and Nani was truly extraordinary, and their relationship serves as a constant inspiration for me. Today, June 5th is my Nana and Nani’s 64th Anniversary, I hope they’re celebrating with an abundance of Jasmine.

--

--