Graduating as the Best from ALX Software Engineering Program Cohort 9: A Journey of Triumph and Reward

Amarachi Crystal Omereife
5 min readDec 11, 2023

--

My ALX Software Engineering Certificate

I am thrilled to share the exciting news that I have successfully completed the 14-month intensive ALX Software Engineering Program, specializing in backend development. This program has been a transformative journey, and I am honored to have emerged as the best student among the 60,000 individuals enrolled in ALX SE Cohort 9.

A Triumph in Learning and Growth

Throughout this intensive program, I’ve experienced a rollercoaster of emotions — from frustrations to joys, confusion to perseverance. The challenges were real, but so were the triumphs. Each hurdle became an opportunity for growth, and every confusion paved the way for clarity. It’s a journey that has not only honed my technical skills but also shaped my character.

Recognized Excellence: Best Final Portfolio Project

One of the highlights of this journey was the recognition of my efforts in the final portfolio project. I am delighted to announce that my portfolio project was selected as the best in Cohort 9. This acknowledgment adds a special touch to the completion of the program and motivates me to continue striving for excellence in the field of software engineering.

An All-Expense-Paid Trip to ALN in Kigali, Rwanda

As an extra layer of recognition, I am thrilled to share that my outstanding performance in the ALX SE Program has earned me an all-expense-paid trip to the African Leaders Conference (ALN) in Kigali, Rwanda. This opportunity not only acknowledges my hard work but also opens doors to connect with leaders in the industry.

Screenshot of email for the all expense paid trip

Lessons Learnt: More Than Just Code

Beyond the lines of code, the program taught me invaluable life lessons. Perseverance and Grit became my ally as I navigated through intricate coding tasks, mirroring the real-world challenges that software engineers face daily. Collaboration, an integral part of the program, instilled in me the importance of teamwork and diverse perspectives in crafting robust solutions. I learnt the value of going the extra mile (beyond provided resources and recommended reading) by incorporating applications, learning platforms (like youtube, udemy etc) to enhance my learning. I chose to learn, not just to pass but to be as near excellent at the issues as i possibly can.
I also learnt the value of selected networking ie networking with a purpose in mind

Navigating Confusion to Clarity

Throughout the program, confusion was a constant companion. Concepts that seemed elusive at first gradually unraveled through persistent effort and the guidance of mentors. It’s a reminder that confusion is a precursor to understanding, and every moment of uncertainty is a step closer to clarity.

Triumphs and Joys: Milestones Worth Celebrating

Amidst the challenges, triumphs and joys adorned the journey. From successfully debugging a complex piece of code to grasping intricate concepts, each milestone became a cause for celebration. The sense of accomplishment in overcoming hurdles was a source of motivation to keep pushing boundaries.

Peer Collaboration: A Pillar of Strength

Collaborating with peers from diverse backgrounds added a unique flavor to the learning experience. The exchange of ideas, the camaraderie in problem-solving, and the shared victories forged a sense of community that extended beyond the virtual classroom.

Program Recommendations: Nurturing Success

For anyone considering the ALX Software Engineering Program:

  1. Immerse Yourself in the Learning Process: Dive deep into the materials, assignments, and projects. Take time to read and understand the instructions carefully before attempting the tasks. Read the learning resources too, the more immersed you are, the richer your learning experience and the better you can solve the tasks.
  2. Don’t Fear Mistakes: Mistakes are stepping stones to mastery. Embrace them as part of the learning journey, and you’ll emerge stronger and more resilient. Try the tasks, endeavor to test your solutions locally before pushing to the required GitHub repo. Also, if you are using windows operating system for the task, ensure to use a terminal like git bash and to enable permissions using “chmod command: before pushing. I strongly recommend you use WSL (windows sub-system) to install ubuntu OS on windows or you can use the sandbox. I personally used WSL because when the traffic was high on the sandbox, it would shut down unexpectedly which I found very frustrating. If you have a PC with system with ( a default) Linux Operating System, that would be best for the program. However WSL on windows works just as well.
  3. Utilize Mentorship: The mentorship available is a treasure. Don’t hesitate to seek guidance, ask questions, and benefit from the wealth of experience that mentors bring.
  4. Build a Robust Network: Connect with fellow participants. Networking opens doors to new perspectives, collaborations, and potential opportunities. Join WhatsApp and telegram groups where students from the same cohort are located, that way, you can learn and resolve tasks in groups which will make it easier for you. Sieve through your connections and maintain a good relationship with the ones who are resourceful, avoid the ones looking for whom to use/copy from without putting in the work.
  5. Manage your time properly: The tasks have strict deadlines and inability to meet up means you start losing marks which will negatively impact your total average grade. Plan your itinery daily to include time to solve your tasks before (preferably) the first deadline. If you have a full time job (like me) while running the program, plan yourself to dedicate at least 4–5 hours of your time daily to read attached learning resources and solve your tasks.

A Heartfelt Thank You

As this chapter concludes, I express my gratitude to the entire ALX community — mentors such as Andrew (Mukare)Ngumbao, Marteen Middelar, peers like Anwulika Mordi (who was an excellent project partner and friend throughout my journey), and organizers of the program who were kind enough to sponsor me to Kigali, as well as feature me on Faces of ALX. Your support has been the wind beneath my wings, propelling me toward excellence.

To future ALX cohorts, may your journey be as transformative and rewarding as mine. Here’s to the next generation of software engineers, innovators, and leaders — may you continue pushing the boundaries of what’s possible.

Cheers to the adventure that awaits!

Warm Regards,

Amarachi Udo-Obia Omereife
ALX SE Best Graduating Student (Cohort 9)

Thanks for reading my blog post, your attention means the world to me!
Please gimme a 👏
Leave a comment 💬
and follow me!

Buy me a coffee ☕💰

Follow me on medium, twitter, linkedin and github

--

--

Amarachi Crystal Omereife

I am a: Devops Engineer and Software Technical Writer. I empower the world with high value solutions!