PowerBI visualisation ideas: using images in slicers, filters and matrix visuals

Data Pears
3 min readSep 21, 2022

Last update: Mar 2021

It’s incredible how I always learn something new about Power BI every week!

This week, I was talking with a customer, and they showed me one of their newest reports. In this report, I saw that the slicer contained images instead of the usual text.

The first thing I asked was: are you using a custom visual to display the images, perhaps a chiclet slicer?

To my surprise, the answer was “No, this is just the standard slicer visualisation…”. I was mind blown!

After the meeting, I decided to test it myself. I’m not sure for how long this feature has been available, but it looks very new to me!

Check out the different ways you can use it below!

First of all, for you to be able to use images in a slicer, you need an image URL column in your dataset!

In my case, I have a table with sample sales data, and I have a column with an image URL for the correspondent country.

The first thing you need to do is change the data category of the column to Image URL:

Four different ways to use images in slicers and filters

--

--