Power BI tricks I can’t live without — Part 2

Data Pears
6 min readSep 8, 2022

Hello everyone!!

As the first post about Power BI tricks I can’t live without was very successful, I decided to do a second post with a few more tricks for you.

Some of them are a bit different, as they are a not exactly a Power BI feature.

Are you curious? Check this out!

1. Unicode characters

Not sure what I’m talking about? Let me share a few examples of unicode characters:

🐶🛸🏝🌞🌼📈

I’m pretty sure you can recognise most of them!

And now you might be asking yourself “Why would I want to use those?”… Well, here is the answer: unicode is almost universally accepted by computing platforms, browsers, and mobile devices!

This means that you can use unicode characters on your Power BI report. How? Well, just copy paste them to any text field you want!

You can create a new column with unicode characters, add a title with a unicode character… And my favourite: unicode characters in Buttons!!

Copy + Paste, as simple as that:

Want to try this one out?

I usually go to this website to get my unicode characters, but there are loads of websites you can use:

--

--