6 Stunning Benefits I Got From Quitting Caffeine

Does caffeine even help in any way?

Mar B.
4 min readJun 24, 2022
6 stunning benefits I got from quitting caffeine
Photo by Gian Cescon on Unsplash

I’ve quit caffeine several times for various reasons, mostly related to diet changes. And then I started drinking coffee again because it didn’t seem to make much of a difference.

But recently I discovered the changes are much more significant than they appear to be. The trick is that the effects creep up on you slowly, so you can only notice them in hindsight.

And by that time, you are used to your coffee again and don’t feel like quitting anymore.

Not long ago I tried one more time, but paying closer attention to any changes in my body, mind, and emotional state. Here’s what I found out.

My frequent bouts of anxiety almost vanished

I’ve suffered from anxiety for many years. Some periods have been better than others, but this time I feel like something fundamental has changed.

I definitely knew that caffeine could worsen anxiety, but it doesn’t seem to be just a matter of intensity. When anxiety appears, I don’t feel overwhelmed by it. Instead, there’s a clearer separation between me and the feelings related to it.

My mood has improved 1000%

--

--

Mar B.

I share what I learn in my journey. Self-awareness, growth, psychology, creativity, and tons more!