Why I Learned to Code

Marcel Galang
2 min readJan 9, 2018

--

There is no shortage of musings on why a person would benefit from learning software development. But this post is about why I decided to learn. Why I wanted to know how to code. My decision is an extension of a problem I was trying to solve well before my first serious Google search on learning development. It started with a process of elimination.

In my past, I have had two main paths. They all taught me who I was, what I wanted and what to avoid. Being a mortgage banker showed me that I like getting paid and that I had a knack for sales. But I also grew tired of being tied to a production number and working in a culture of sales and money. As a working indie musician, I was at home in the culture. There was no shortage of new things/projects/people to be involved with. But being broke is not sustainable for years on end. So I looked for a path that could provide me with the things that worked well for me. And this is why I decided to learn software development.

I wanted to be challenged. And I still want to be challenged. Today, tomorrow, every day. By problems, concepts, others and myself. I enjoy continued learning and problem solving and hope to stay in constant transition. Developers have an excess of lessons to be learned and challenges to conquer. Truly, an endless supply. I wanted in. And I wanted to do it with bright people. Colleagues whose interests and focus run deeper than most. People that use creativity and information to create something from nothing.

These reasons echo my musician past with the desire for creativity and my banker past of focus and ambition But most importantly it leads me to something that I have never done. Something new.

--

--