Hiking in Scotland during a Global Pandemic

Marc Inglis
3 min readAug 4, 2020

--

Aye, you read that right.

The world is in a very trying time right now, some locations are opening up and others are closing down. I’m not here to break the news to you because by the time you’ve read this your situation might have changed.

No, I’m here to tell you about the pragmatically named Loch Lochy and its twin Munros: Sron a’ Choire Ghairbh (937 meters) and Meall na Teanga (918 meters). Baggin’ Munros is hard, but pronouncing their Gaelic names is harder.

They’re good hills. Simple. With two hours to the T section that divides the ascents, this walk has a rich variety of scenery starting from lochside to fir forest, fern fields, rocky rivers before entering into the classic Scottish mountainous valley that will blow your mind.

Loch Lochy at the bottom of the Coire Garbh.

During the trek, I encountered a few other walkers, ranging from super fit and well kitted out mountaineers, to elderly couples trying something new or rekindling a love for their country. There was also a very friendly dog that covered me in mud, however, I forgave her.

At the peak of the first Munro, as I ate my packed lunch squatting behind a large rock to protect myself from the wind, I reflected on these other hikers. What were their motives for spending a sunny day on a remote hill? Would they be in the pub today if there wasn’t a virus circulating? Actually, would I be in the pub?

The hills are only half the reason I’m writing this. There are more pressing issues than me lugging myself up a mountain in hiking boots and short shorts (pictures in next months GQ). I want to talk about fresh air.

Just now, with social distancing and masks being mandatory in shopping areas (which is fair, wear your masks!), fresh air can seem like a distant memory from what we’re used to. Summers in Scotland, if not everywhere, is a time to be outdoors making the most of what time you have in the sun. It hasn’t felt like this recently and that can be tough. But maybe this is a wake-up call to appreciate what you’ve got on your front door.

In the 6 and a half hours of walking up and down, I truly forgot about a lot of the issues that I’ve been dealing with during lockdown and working from home. The clarity I felt was something almost new to me.

We all have these mountains in our lives. For me, it was a very real, physical beast that I had to walk over to have this feeling of normality again. However, it might not manifest itself this way to others. I am very grateful to be in a part of the world that allows us to drive for less than an hour and be on the front door of an adventure.

Finally, the peak!

With the hike behind me, I can focus more on my daily tasks while setting up future challenges. This won’t be the last mountain I climb and it certainly won’t be the last vocation I encounter during the UK lockdown, but I know days out like this can centre me and give me the strength to physically and mentally power through this trying time.

Find your mountain and conquer it now!

--

--