Walking the supermarket has become a new experience

Marc Lustig
2 min readJan 2, 2021

--

Since I discovered the pleasures that come along from refraining from food such as meat, sugar, bread and pasta, walking a supermarket has become a new experience for me. A few months ago I was convinced that c0nsuming all those bits and pieces offered in the supermarket is the logical thing to do for a normal and „balanced“ person.

A few weeks after I started my diet I began to realise the impact on my mental vitality. I’m feeling much more lightful and independent. I started to feel the depth of my addictions – and its huge impact on my emotional life.

Now, when I walk the supermarket and observe myself being at ease with refraining from pretty much over 80 % of the food offered, there is no glimpse of any sacrifice, rather I see a market of things that are holding us back from stepping into our true life and purpose. It’s a market of legacy stuff – things that are not needed anymore, things that used to hold me back from my inner freedom.

Can I blame anybody for this? Maybe the supermarket chain? The industry? Politicians? Our evil capilastic system? Ney – certainly not. If there was nothing to overcome, I would be deprived of the opportunity to do exactly that, to overcome it.

That’s the beauty of our times. Let’s observe ourselves how the symptoms of humanity’s crises are triggering our emotions. There is pain and suffering, there is desperation, there is hope and optimism, there is anxiety, and there is a lot of anger.

All of those emotions are my emotions. They are a mirror of ourself and we are better off to listen very carefully to it, rather than trying to manage them. Once we recognise our emotions as what they are, a mirror of ourselves, we have the opportunity to walk through our individual initiation to become a true human being, a deeper version of ourselves. When we reach that state we become grateful to live on that very day. We understand that the world doesn’t need to be different. The only difference we can make in life by any means is to connect to our true potential, to become truly balanced and to observe how we lightfully create a reality which reflects our inner realm.

Let’s do it. Let’s get started.

--

--

Marc Lustig

I’m a growth coach who accompanies organizations and individuals to discover a greater version of themselves.