REMOTE WORK SCAM

Marco Romero
6 min readSep 2, 2020

--

Professionals: prevents that this not happen to you.

The reason of this complaint is that I have been scammed by a customer named “Jonathan Beales” on the UK website People Per Hour (PPH).

The kind of complex projects that I work on (Expert), unlike the majority of “simple projects” on this PPH website, always violate the “Terms & Conditions” from the beginning by the customer (Buyer) in point 3.2 (Project delivery for Custom Projects), and Payments point 4, since that the customer never provide nor has any idea of the information he needs to handle for the development of his project, and many, like in this case, are opportunistic scammers who want to take advantage of the PPH website for their benefit (something that should be penalized by the law and considered scam).

The “Terms & Conditions” of the People Per Hour (PPH) website, Point 3.2 (Project delivery for Custom Projects), section “B”, which clearly states:

“for a fixed priced custom project the Buyer agrees to pay the Freelancer based on *deliverables*. The parties should agree upfront in the WorkStream whether to divide the project into milestones, with associated milestone payments. If milestones have not been agreed then the Custom project will only be invoiced on full completion of all deliverables.”

People Per Hour (PPH) — Terms & Conditions: https://www.peopleperhour.com/static/terms

So… On Sat, July 25, I bid on project #2937005 (screenshot 01.01), as it can clearly see the project specifications provided by the customer (Buyer) which is the subject of my complaint: Mr. Jonathan Beales.

[Img 01.01] Project Id #2937005 VIDEO GAME LEVEL DESIGNER REQUIREDUNITY 3D & BLENDER

On August 20, I replied to the customer exactly as stated in WorkStream #2937005 (screenshot 01.02), where it can clearly read:

3) Your ideas?

R3.- Formalize the contracting of the project development #2937005, in order to proceed to redesign the playing area. As you will understand, I cannot provide free advice.

[Img 01.02] Project Id #2937005: Reply

Subsequently, on 21 August 2020, and due to the customer’s reply, I made the following clarifications (screenshot 01.03) since very excited, the client begins to demand more, promising an extra £3,000 if I acceded to his demands, so that I found myself in the need to explain the reason that justified the budget of my bid.

[Img 01.03] Project Id #2937005: Clarifications

I didn`t hear from the customer until 25 Aug 2020 when he sent me an invitation to bid on his new project #2974583 (screenshot 02.01), where to my surprise, impudence, and without any ethics, the customer (Buyer) had included my specs on his new project as yours. A project that by the way, currently appears with the status: “no longer available” where I wrote my claim, and I proceeded to report his profile and his project.

[Img 02.01] Project Id #2974583 VIDEO GAME 1 LEVEL/UNITY 3D/UNREAL ENGINE PROGRAMMER+GRAPHICS

On August 27 when I opened my claim Id #931322 “REMOTE WORK SCAM”, I could see that the client had had the nerve to open a claim Id #930896 for “Upfront payment” the day before, out of time and maliciously, to take advantage of my work, experience, and knowledge for his personal benefit in violation of any international code of ethics, but the damage was already done.

[Img C] PeoplePerHour Support — My requests 01/09/2020

Already for Friday 28 Aug 2020, the customer again has the nerve to send me a new invitation to his other new project #2977700 (screenshot 03.01), where he not only continued to use my technical specifications but as a mockery, the customer had already awarded the project.

[Img 03.01] Project Id #2977700 VIDEO GAME 1 LEVEL/UNITY 3D PROGRAMMER+GRAPHICS

As it can be confirmed: My reply in the WorkStream (about how to develop the customer’s project #2937005) was always the first *deliverables* (consulting advice and project management) that justifies the 50% upfront payment (Sceencapture 01.03)!!!

The main reason why the kind of work I do needs an upfront payment is precisely that many clients have no idea about how the development of the requested project should be done, which is why I find myself in the need to establish the upfront payment, in order to be able to advise the customer, and offer him the development schedule with scopes and delivery dates by mutual agreement.

#2937005 VIDEO GAME LEVEL DESIGNER REQUIREDUNITY 3D & BLENDER
https://www.peopleperhour.com/freelance-jobs/software-development/game-development/video-game-level-designer-required-unity-3d-blender-2937005

#2974583 VIDEO GAME 1 LEVEL/UNITY 3D/UNREAL ENGINE PROGRAMMER+GRAPHICS
https://www.peopleperhour.com/freelance-jobs/software-development/game-development/video-game-1-level-unity-3d-unreal-engine-programmer-graphi-2974583

#2977700 VIDEO GAME 1 LEVEL/UNITY 3D PROGRAMMER+GRAPHICS
https://www.peopleperhour.com/freelance-jobs/software-development/game-development/video-game-1-level-unity-3d-programmer-graphics-2977700

People Per Hour (PPH) — Jonathan Beales
https://www.peopleperhour.com/freelancer/jonathan-beales-producer-publisher-yvnvj

I have no option but to make this information public to warning other users around the world what is happening with People Per Hour (PPH) website, and to avoid being scammed as it happened to me.

I will proceed legally against Mr. Jonathan Beales directly in the UK; apart from that, I formally requested that the website People Per Hour (PPH) suspended his user’s account, and thus avoid people like this from continuing to take advantage of others.

The “People Per Hour” (PPH) website has been an excellent source of employment all these years, but sadly it is not perfect, and I can say it with property for almost 10 years working remotely on different platforms around the world (Elance, Upwork, Guru, Freelancer, and PeoplePerHour)

To this day, Tuesday, September 01 2020, I am still waiting for a reply from the People Per Hour (PPH) Support website to my formal complaint Id #931928 “REMOTE WORK SCAM” / Id #931322 “STATUS UPDATE: REMOTE WORK SCAM”

Marco Romero
marcoromero.net

- — -

Marco Romero, is a 3D Certified Professional Designer, proficient in CAD design since 1995 in AutoCAD®, Autodesk 3Ds MAX® Certified Professional, and Authorized Developer (ID: DEVR748), VR content developer under official affiliation of “VRWorks™” and “GameWorks VR™” registered Developer Program by NVIDIA.

Educational experience of more than nine (9) years as Autodesk 3Ds MAX® Instructor at the “Instituto de Computación Gráfica Arts”, in the capital city of Caracas, which is the most prestigious Computer Graphics Institute in Venezuela.

Awarded with five (5) International Certifications accredited by Autodesk as associate N# 00247443 (2012), with respective Professional Certifications N# 00247445 (2012), N# 00324105 (2013), N# 00359311 (2014), N# 00416650 (2015), and an active member of Autodesk Developer Network as a Professional Developer for 3Ds MAX from January 2016 to the present. ID: DEVR5748

You can find more information about his work, portfolios, and profiles on the web: https://about.me/maromero

--

--

Marco Romero

3D Certified Professional Designer, CAD design proficiency in AutoCAD since 1995, 3Ds MAX Certified Professional Designer and Authorized Developer by Autodesk.