The many voices of stress

Marcos Espinosa
2 min readMar 5, 2018

--

Original photo by Masaaki Komori

And frustration, anxiety and maybe others.

We all know that stress is bad and that it can have side effects. Nothing new here. What might be new to some is that these side effects could be different for every person.

I’ve discovered that if my back hurts (in a particular spot) or that if the allergies start acting up it can be a sign that I’m under stress or tense about something. Particularly if it’s recurring. It’s only a theory, but I think it’s right. For the rest of this written piece let’s assume I’m right.

Those are the voices of stress in my body. And my guess is that everyone will have different ones. They could probably change over time. I had a single white hair during high school that I no longer have, and I’m so thankful for that!

I’ve been learning to acknowledge my body.

Nobody likes to say something important and not be heard.

Anyway, this is something inspired by recent events. What are your thoughts on the different voices stress can have? Let me know!

The comic for this story is here!

-M

Share this story if you think somebody else will benefit and follow me (*wink wink*) if you liked it! I post on Mondays and Thursdays!

--

--