Streamer JustInSaneSC Engages His Viewers with Eye Tracking

“It is very important to give a very good first impression to the newcomers in such a competitive scene.”

Marcus Edward Hoy
5 min readJan 18, 2019
Meet JustInSaneSC!

We’ve been getting in touch with some of our top streamers who frequently use eye tracking and Tobii Ghost to find out exactly why they use it and how they feel it benefits their stream.

This time we have JustInSaneSC, FPS and Battle Royale enthusiast who we featured in our Twitch Extension Video, check it out to learn more about streaming with Tobii Ghost and find the interview below.

Learn more about streaming with Tobii Ghost

Q. Tell us a little bit about yourself, your channel and why you started streaming in the first place.

Hi, my name is Justin, I am 28 years old and live in Italy. I mainly work as parkour coach and do streaming for a hobby.

I have been doing streaming seriously for the past year or so, mainly playing FPS games like PUBG, Hunt, EFT (Escape from Tarkov). My channel grew a lot over time, I love my community and I live a dream of making it my full-time job one day.

Q. What made you think “ Yeah! I want to use eye tracking in my stream?”

I have heard about eye tracking for a while and I always try to improve the quality of my stream by investing in new hardware, trying to provide the best experience to my viewers.

Q. Since you started using eye tracking in your streams, have you found that it has helped increase engagement with your audience?

Yes, I do believe so. It is very important to give a very good first impression to the newcomers in such a competitive scene. There are a lot of good, nice, professional and funny streamers out there. And I believe the first few minutes are crucial. Many seem to be quite curious about this new strange bubble floating around and it’s is a good start to engage new viewers, while my regulars get extra insight on my thought process and decision making in-game.

Q. In what game or what game genre do you feel that the engagement is higher?

FPS games like BR are very good at providing good amounts of entertainment, tension and action and some down times to connect with the audience. RTS games like StartCraft II can also benefit greatly from it showing off players the multitasking and prioritization order.

Q. What do you feel is the benefit of using an eye tracker in your channel? Can you bring up any memorable moments from your experience?

It’s always nice to receive compliments on my gameplay, extra things I notice, how fast I can spot enemies even in the most hidden spots. Best reward a streamer can get is appreciation for his content…

Appreciate this man!

Q. Before we released the Twitch Extension a lot of viewers would ask “What is the bubble?”. Have you had this happen in your channel and do you think the extension lessened this?

People still ask that question and I find it a positive thing, it starts a conversation, plus I get to know their opinion on it. The extension helped greatly at eye tracking customization on the viewer side, which is very important since they are the end user. And the ability to turn it off, if it bothers some of my viewers, is also very important. Some people want to be able to lay back on their sofa and just watch the stream without some bubble flying around, while it can stay available to others who really enjoy extra analysis and insight into the play making.

Q. What do you use to notify your chat about the extension, any bots?

They tend to see it on the screen, plus I prefer them asking me, creating a conversation that way. I like personal interaction instead of bot automated messages.

Q. Apart from streaming, have you played any of the supported games with eye tracking? If so which is your favorite one and why?

I tend to stream every game I play and I almost never play without going live so the answer is no. There is a technical problem, since I can use the device only on streaming or gaming rig at a time. If I had an extra device I would have tried it probably.

Q. With the Twitch Extension users can now turn the eye tracker on and off and also customize it themselves. What other features do you feel would be valuable for to your viewers?

More customization would be always great, it would be also nice if the streamer could set it up more easily down to the millisecond. It can be tricky sometimes to overlap and make sure everything is on time.

Q. What additional features do you feel would be of value to you?

Here is an idea: I think it would be nice for my stream to have it turned on and off automatically in specific moments when the extension is enabled. I use heart rate monitor on my stream. So to have it pop on once I go over certain heart rate number would be an interesting feature for me. I don’t think it is important to have it on 24/7 I can see how it can be distracting for people while I play, BUT it would definitely make a battle ever more so epic when the action is really going down :)

Q. Why do you continue to use eye tracking?

Eye tracking is a good solid tool that I will continue to use in the future to create better and higher quality content, providing more insight into my gameplay.

“Many [viewers] seem to be quite curious about this new strange bubble floating around and its is a good start to engage new viewers, while my regulars get an extra insight on my thought process and decision making in-game”

Are you also looking for new ways of engaging and providing insight to your stream viewers? Then perhaps eye tracking could be something for you…

Find out more here:

If you’d like to know more about how other streamers are using Tobii Ghost, check out the other interviews in the series:

--

--

Marcus Edward Hoy

Passionate geek fuelled by all sorts of interests; reading, gaming, movies, TV, and much more. Previously Community Manager at Stryda and Tobii AB (Gaming)