Marcus Royal
2 min readApr 4, 2024

--

I like your work & agree with your logic. I think Nat Turner is the perfect comparison and whether you agree or disagree with Nat Turner or Hamas, one has to know that that kind of violence is the natural & should be expected response & consequence to years, decades of degradation, dehumanization, brutalization, dispossession and incarceration. Nat Turner is a hero of mine and Hamas, likely will be, not because I approve of their methods, but because they sacrificed themselves to fight back against the oppression of their people. I agree with the unsourced adage, maybe it's Mandela, maybe it was Dr. King or José Marti (paraphrased) to take up arms when all other options have not been exhausted is inexcusable, but it is also inexcusable to fail to do so when they have. I think it can easily be argued that in the cases of both the slaves in the US & the Palestinians, particularly in Gaza, but throughout Palestine, all other methods had been tried and thwarted by both Israel & its backers, principally, the US who who do not now nor ever have negotiated in good faith any deal that could liberate in any way any Palestinians, certainly not the 2 state "plan" (framework) There only two places I disagree with you & my point is not to argue. I only point them out for your consideration. First, I don't think we know & possibly may never know who did what on Oct.7th. I do not claim Hamas' innocence, but I certainly don't think we have the evidence to prove their guilt. Many of the Israeli allegations have been proven lies, particularly regarding the murders of babies & most of the rape allegations and as to the deaths, there are other Palestinian actors not under Hamas' contro and it is likely that some, perhaps many or even most can be attributed to the Israeli response, whether by carelessness, general excessive force or "the Hannibal doctrine". Secondly, I already alluded to it. The 2 state solution has never been negotiated in good faith & would never be tolerated. I can't find the word. Trojan horse is as close as I can get. Israel was founded as an Apartheid state. The method of it's takeover (theft) of the land was genocide & ethnic cleansing with the minority of survivors subjugated to a lesser status. That can't be allowed in the modern world, not in the US South, not in South Africa and not in Palestine or Israel, nowhere. There can only be one answer, equal rights for all... one nation with equality from the river to the sea. Thanks again.

--

--

Marcus Royal

CNA/EMT, (perpetual but poor) student of Spanish, History, politics, Marxism, Justice, Labor, Race, Class, Gender (Anthropology), humans, animals, nature...