I Am That Lady

--

I am that lady

who lost her reading glasses

who uses the bathroom five times a day

who smiles beatifically at service dogs

who is not wearing a nosering

who does not have a single tattoo

I am that lady

who has her sweater inside out without knowing

who cannot create an excel spreadsheet

who gets her hair caught in her zipper

who thinks everyone is rude now

and can’t remember why she came in the room

I am that lady

who the barista calls ma’am

who texts with one finger

who marched for a woman’s right to choose (the first time)

who has lost her waist somewhere

and wears second hand Eileen Fisher pants

I am that lady

You do not see

But in a few years

You will be me.

(2023)

© Margaret Kramer 2023

--

--

Margaret Kramer

Writer, social worker, mom, caregiver, feminist and more. Bicoastal, grateful for family and friends, member of the Inner Peace Corps, thrift store junkie