How I met Ted — part 2

From the Logbook of a Snail

Margherita Pletti
5 min readJul 8, 2017

When I look back, I realize every day should be like that Sunday.

After my first market as a vendor, the 17th of June, I was going to the Kookanee campground to spend one night there in the van, and the day after I was going to take the ferry to reach the east shore of the Kootenay Lake. The plan for the east shore was: visit my friend Lee and help her with the garden, check the famous artisans of Crawford Bay and join a family constellation workshop with Blanche and Harreson Tanner.

After this, I needed to be in Canmore for the 30th of June, to housesit and dogsit for the entire month of July. The problem: I had to leave the van In Nelson because its real owners are here and I can’t come back before my flight to Germany, the 3rd of August. And, as usual, I was broke, so no buses and no carpooling. I had to cover 530 km and I had no idea how to do it. Maybe hitchhiking, but this time I have more stuff: all my crafts, that’s two boxes. Can’t hitchhike in comfort with those.

My route, 17–18 June

So here I am, after the artisans’ market, driving with a mess in the van, directed to the campground where Ray, Quinn and Keighan are waiting for me. Maybe. My phone doesn’t work so I couldn’t communicate with them. When I found the campground, I’ve starting being the creepy person driving slowly slowly around the tents and the kids. A few school groups were camping there that weekend. I stopped, and some young and daring canadians rode their bikes towards me. After a brief interaction I knew that they were from the wrong school: Waldorf. Nothing against it, but not the one I was looking for. I found my Wildflower School people around the next bonfire.

The van looked as if a bomb exploded in it, so I started cleaning it. Ransacking in my stuff I found a cute little bottle I forgot I had, decorated with some delicate chinese characters all around the bottom. Inside the bottle there was some water I collected two months before from the Johnson’s Landing, from the exact same lake I was camping on, but 80 km north. I collected it back in April as a symbol of protection, because that day I was starting my road trip across British Columbia. Amused by the finding, I decided I had to give the water back: that road trip has been magical and I got from it some wonderful memories for the incorporeal wunderkammer I’m creating in my mind. So I grabbed the bottle, went down to the shore, took off my shoes and walked in the cold water. I breathed in the breathtaking view, enjoyed it for a moment and took off the bottle cap. I started pouring the content in the lake. In a glympse, I saw the scene from outside and remembered a statue of Kuan Yin pouring water from her flask as a symbol of abundance. That was a funny, mysterious moment, I felt super awkward, who am I to imitate that Goddess? But I stood there smiling until the last drop was returned. Thank you, whoever, whatever, thank you so infinitely much.

Portrait of Kuan Yin by Sue Halstenberg

Done that, I had no more excuses, it was time to take that ferry. The problem: I had no reply from Lee and I didn’t have her address, weird, maybe she doesn’t want me around? But you know what, I’ll get there anyway. Somehow.

It was my first time taking a ferry as a driver with a vehicle, and I was wearing my new hippy clothes from the Salvation Army: I felt pretty cool in my van, which is still not mine, but it doesn’t matter. Of course, the first person in the east shore I spoke with knew Lee and gave me the address. She gave me also an interesting tip: visit the Yasodhara Ashram, you’ll like it, it’s on your way. So I tried to do it, but I took the wrong turn and I got to the Shanti Yoga instead. There I met Maggie, a gentle soul who invited me for a women circle that Tuesday. Blanche Tanner was going to be there as well. I had heard about Blanche so many times and from so many friends, in terms that created in my head the image of a new world’s witch, that I was super excited to meet her. For sure I’ll join the women circle.

When I found the Ashram I’ve been welcomed and fed with cookies and tea, which is not usual appearently, but I didn’t ask any question.. it was just a magic day, Kuan Yin was still in me. I spoke about spirals, kundalini and snails with the volunteers, and learnt about a magic woman from Germany who travelled to India and brought an Ashram in the North-West of America.

I’m sorry, I was too busy having fun and this is the only picture I took

When I finally got to Lee’s house she wasn’t impressed, the contrary: I felt like I was late. She’s another unusual wonderful woman that happened to cross my path, there are so many now, all unique and different. She’s the kind of woman who can skin a bear in the middle of the woods while wearing pearl earrings and silk clothes from an exotic country where she used to live. That’s how I imagine her. I might have mixed different moments but maybe not. I think it’s quite a precise picture.

read How I met Ted — part 1

--

--