Should you leave your architecture job to become a UX designer?

Maria Taneva
7 min readDec 23, 2022

I will answer this and more without sugar-coating it.

I’ve been chatting to some of my architect friends recently, and they all had similar questions such as:

  • What are the similarities between architecture and UX design?
  • Is being a UX designer better than being an architect?
  • Can you make more money as a UX designer?
  • What do you actually do as a UX designer?
  • I have the impression that tech is better than architecture. Should I just quit my job and go for it?
  • Is a bootcamp a good idea?

As you can see the questions were primarily focused on whether UX design is a better career choice than architecture. I remember having the same questions when I found myself at the crossroads. UX design seems like a lucrative position, with all the supposed “perks” of being in tech, getting paid well and doing something enjoyable and rewarding. Being on the other side now, I can see why people get this impression about UX design, but I also know now that it’s not all true and not as its been marketed to you by bootcamp providers.

--

--

Maria Taneva

UX designer, former architect. Design topics, changing careers, design systems, books, video games 📚 and other things in between.