Bia’s WOPR SUMMIT 0x0 badge Tutorial

Mr.PotatoHead
3 min readMar 6, 2019

--

Finally got time to do this!

So I met one of the most awesome little people ever, her twitter handle is @BiaSciLab (twitter). She will probably kick ass at whatever she will do. One of the things that she brought to the WOPR Summit 2019 was a small badge with a cute fuzzy kitty. Before getting started learn how to solder here: https://www.makerspaces.com/how-to-solder/

So Lets show the goods of what Bia has given us today!

Da Gudz

So here we have 1 kitty breadboard, 1 resister, 4 white leds, 1 red led, a battery and a battery cradle. This is a pretty epic design because of the bow, I don’t see many projects that have cute little cats on it.

Now we will see my wonderful station:

My Current setup

I no longer have a workbench because I live in a one bedroom apartment. I did resort to this awesome stove. It is fire resistant. We have pliers that barely work. A roll of RadioShack 60/40 Rosin-core Solder ( this stuff loves to not keep in place) , 20$ soldering iron from radio shack and that’s pretty much the setup. That paper towel is because I’m too cheap to get a sponge or cheap steel wool to clean my iron. Probably making someone cringe today.

  1. Put the white LEDs, then the red LED in the center. Cathode is the positive big boi! Anode is the negative small boi. Once you understand this basic on how to put the leds on this becomes a piece of cake. Bia has made it super easy to indicate which hole was positive and which one was negative.
I put the red LED after but I forgot to red one after this photo

Step 2: Put the resistor. From the photo above its very easy to see where the resistor is suppose to be seated. There is in big letters the word “RESISTOR” written on the bottom. Just put it there orientation doesn’t matter. Just solder correctly.

Resistor on.

Step 4: Put the battery cradle. So I decided to solder this on the board. I am pretty sure this is correct so oh well if it isn’t. Still works.

Those pliers were a nightmare to use

Step 5 put the battery! Positive people need to stick together and so do batteries and terminals. That’s why you want to put the positive side in the positive place ,and the negative side on the negative place. It immediately turns on! It’s ALIVE!!!

Alive and well!

Overall: This was a really fun and great kit for beginners. I would suggest you to watch out for Bia’s new work in the BIA HAK LAB.

--

--