Sogamosario
2 min readApr 27, 2017

Julio Cortázar – Rayuela (Hopscotch) | Book review

I read this one in its original language, Spanish, and although I enjoyed it, it was also a bit of a disappointment.

I had been putting off reading this book because to me it always had carried this mystical something about it. Felt like I had to let several stories go through me before I even dared laying eyes on this one.

So now that I have read it I think I was probably right, I will probably need several readings in order to get a better hold of its deepest meaning. But If you have been like me, putting it off for later, I would say you better dive in it once and for all, and then try reading several times, because the only way of tearing the mysterious veil off it is definitely giving it the first read.

Original title: Rayuela

Published: 1963

In case you are interested in this masterpiece I leave here the Goodreads description of the book and the link to it.

Horacio Oliveira is an Argentinian writer who lives in Paris with his mistress, La Maga, surrounded by a loose-knit circle of bohemian friends who call themselves “the Club.” A child’s death and La Maga’s disappearance put an end to his life of empty pleasures and intellectual acrobatics, and prompt Oliveira to return to Buenos Aires, where he works by turns as a salesman, a keeper of a circus cat which can truly count, and an attendant in an insane asylum. Hopscotch is the dazzling, freewheeling account of Oliveira’s astonishing adventures.

Sogamosario

Reader. Coffee drinker. Smiler. Language enthusiast. I post about the books I’ve read so far, quotes and life