22 life lessons for my 22nd birthday

Maria Gracia Sotelo
13 min readAug 2, 2020

This month was particularly difficult as I had final exams till the 22nd day of the month (although most of them in the first half) and the other half brought a new job, routine and a series of anniversaries: My birthday, my brother’s birthday, my first year in Chile, nostalgic memories from Spain and other less pleasant yet highly relevant anniversaries in my life.

That’s why I was largely absent from Medium, too.

So in order to commemorate another time around the sun and all the energy, nostalgia, introspection and reflection it brings (plus being able to fully sing Taylor Swift’s song 22)I decided to make a list of everything I feel life has taught me all this time I have been experiencing in this dimension. All lessons are equally important so the order isn’t particularly relevant:

1) Take time more seriously:

Organize, schedule, optimize. Seriously. As you reach more birthdays you realize the feeling of being young and living forever that we all get during our teenage years is nothing but a lie. We won’t live forever, we have limited time and that is the greatest commodity. With time we also become more…

--

--

Maria Gracia Sotelo

Writer on investments, trading, stocks, financial education, self-education and self-improvement. Might write some quirky articles for educational purposes.