2015, in writing

Marian Bull
Years in Review
Published in
2 min readDec 18, 2015

Here is a compilation of things I wrote in 2015 that I am proud of.

The first thing I wrote this year was about nachos, specifically the nachos at The Commodore and why they are perfect and how to make them at home. If nothing else please make this queso sauce for your next party, especially if there are sports. I also wrote about eating dosa in Jersey City and reconciling ~food memories~. I spoke with Victor Hazan about cooking with his late wife Marcella, my favorite love story.

I wrote a feature for Lucky Peach about character dining at Disney World and growing up in a live stage magic company, which was scary to write and of which I am proud. I talked to two very smart chefs about the mother sauces of Spanish cooking. For Food52 I wrote about why cooking is a constant struggle and still worth it, a tiny manifesto of sorts. I wrote a poem about vegetarian dinner parties, too.

For The New Republic, I reviewed a Weed Cookbook, an extremely pleasurable assignment. I wrote about the only drive-through restaurant in Chapel Hill, NC for Lucky Peach’s Breakfast Issue. I wrote about the excellent portrayal of NYC dining in Master of None. I heralded the death of soy milk, for Eater. I started writing about old bar books and their relevance today, for PUNCH.

And non-food things: I took a deep greige dive into why Essie has become the go-to brand for fancy nail salons. I looked into what happens when TV goes to college, for Broadly. I compiled a brief list of cockblocks for The Hairpin. I wrote a personal essay about rocks. I lobbied for my favorite underwear.

growing up is fun i love it. writing is terrible i love it.

--

--

Marian Bull
Years in Review

this particularly rapid unintelligible patter isn't generally heard and if it is it doesn't matter