Grieving

How to Be Happy Again After a Devastating Loss in 2022

Maribel Toscano
Readers Hope

--

The loss of a loved one is one of the most painful and traumatic episodes that a person can face.

Grief is a necessary stage to overcome loss, and there is no “normal” way to experience it, each one does it in their own way, mourning my dad's death was the most difficult thing I have experienced in my life, and still, to this day it is tough every day, But there are some keys that helped me through it.

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

The death of a loved one is undoubtedly a traumatic event. For those who go through this experience, it is as if a piece of the world had been broken, as if a part of the map had disappeared at least that's how I felt and still do. I had to learn to live a life in which he was no longer there. And it is not easy. I went through grief, the emotional response to loss, a long and painful stage but necessary to get well again.

How long is the duel? Well, there is no “normal” duration. For many people, it is between six months and a year, for others, it can take a little longer and some really never get through it. On the other hand, grief has several phases. Five, according to the classic model, established by the psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Rossen in her 1969 book On Death and the Dying: denial, anger, negotiation, emotional pain or depression, and acceptance.

--

--

Maribel Toscano
Readers Hope

I write about food and things that make my soul happy!