How I got into service design

Marie Cheung
4 min readOct 18, 2019

--

I love designing services. I enjoy doing it for my job and helping others to learn the skills and to think more holistically. I believe it can help make the world a better place. More and more people have started asking me about how I got into service design and I thought I’d share my story.

Conducting research to explore the current and future customer needs on social housing
Conducting research to explore the current and future customer needs on social housing (Snook)

During my undergraduate degree at Simon Fraser University, I took a design course where I learned about Experience Design. It inspired me to design whole experiences with joined up channels and not just the touch points we interact with. Just like I wasn’t so interested in making another lamp or chair as we’ve already designed so many in this world, I wasn’t satisfied with the idea of only building more digital apps and websites. I wanted to help fix broken systems and to think about the spaces in-between products.

Pursuing a degree in Interactive Arts & Technology helped me learn to work well under pressure, for tight deadlines and in multidisciplinary teams. I am thankful to have acquired a wide range of tools and skills. I also completed a joint major in Communications which honed my ability and interest in research, writing and documenting experiences. After digging further into Experience Design, I came across Service Design and knew it was the right career for me. I felt the skills I learned from university and being part of student organizations helped set me up well to become a service designer.

Taking the bus in Malmö, Sweden on a trip to IKEA
Taking the bus in Malmö, Sweden on a trip to IKEA

Around that time in 2012, I went to Malmö, Sweden to study abroad for 6 months. Living outside of Canada for the first time opened my eyes to the different systems and cultures of these countries abroad. I was fascinated by the Swedish recycling system and transport systems that took me to different places. In fact, I travelled to 15 countries during those 6 months.

When I returned, I bought the This is Service Design Thinking book and devoured as much service design content as I could find online. I was inspired by the work done at Adaptive Path, Livework and Cooper. I participated in my first Global Service Jam in Vancouver in 2013 and absolutely loved it. After I graduated in 2014, I applied to internships across Europe and landed one at Snook in Glasgow, Scotland. In fact, I found their case study in the Service Design Thinking book. I always wanted to return to Europe and Canada was still very new to service design, so this was my opportunity to kickstart my career as a service designer.

Glasgow Service Jam 2015 (Snook)
Glasgow Service Jam 2015 (Snook)

Going abroad and interning at Snook was one of the best experiences I ever had. I learned so much and I felt I was in the right place. I started to feel like I belonged to a worldwide service design community and it was so vibrant, optimistic and supportive.

Leading an outcome-based service mapping workshop at the International Design in Gov conference

Since then, I’ve worked as a Service Designer at the Department for Work & Pensions in the UK government. I ran internal service design training with the Government Digital Service (GDS) to civil servants across the North of England. I organized many Global Service Jams and GovJams in Glasgow, Leeds and Ghent. I ran CycleHack in Glasgow and Leeds, an event that applies service design techniques to help reduce barriers to cycling.

Running a recent Design Sprint at Ingenico
Running a recent Design Sprint at Ingenico

Now I am the lead UX and Service Designer at Ingenico in Belgium, helping to transform a technology-focused company into a user-centred organization. It’s a new challenge to help the company adopt a mindset focused on people’s needs, to use research to test assumptions and to co-design new products and service together with employees, merchants and end users.

What led you to service design?

--

--

Marie Cheung

Service designer, passionate about designing great services that work for the people who use and deliver them.