MarieG
1 min readJan 14, 2017

--

So true…. There’s a 90's movie w/Susan Sarandon and James Spader called White Palace… The premise: Rich younger man, older, fast food waitress… ridiculous I know however, romance ensues…. The point I’m making is, there’s a scene,(Thanksgiving dinner at his wealthy parents home) and there’s a particular piece of dialogue I’ve always remembered for its prescience… his father begins talking about the upcoming election, and he keeps needling Nora, (Susan Sarandon) about her thoughts…. Finally she says….”it doesn’t make any difference to me who’s in the White House, Merle Haggard could be president and I’ll still be choking on burger grease, busting my hump for the minimum fucking wage”…. And I think, if we’re not part of the privileged class, that statement is, unfortunately, still horribly accurate. Sickening, but accurate, and Kidman’s response, so laissez-faire, and a bit dismissive is par for the course for people that have NO skin in the game….

--

--