Logo, Branding, Social Media

Maria Oncescu
4 min readMay 10, 2024

Brand Board (Initial)

When conceptualizing my brand identity as an artist, I created this design. It drew inspiration from the pink-haired character illustration that serves as my profile picture across all my social media platforms. This character reflects my personality and appearance, making it a fitting representation of my brand.

Pink, being my favorite color, was chosen not only for personal preference but also because it embodies the energy I seek to convey through my creations.

First Logo Idea:

The initial logo iteration above marked my first attempt. While I wasn’t necessarily dissatisfied with it, I sensed it lacked readability and uniqueness. It appeared somewhat familiar, lacking the distinctiveness needed to stand out. Hence, I decided to pursue a different direction.

Old New Logo:

The above logo emerged from efforts to enhance readability. I integrated my initials using a rounded font, crafting a memorable design. This logo has served as a watermark for sharing artwork on social media and for professional applications in CVs and other presentations.

New (Final) Logo Concept — Iterations:

Final Logo:

Additional:

The new concept for the logo aimed to incorporate my initials into a visual representation of a figure of speech. With my full name being Maria Elena Oncescu, I condensed “Maria Elena” into “Marie” and “Oncescu” into “On,” resulting in the brand name “Marieonarts.”
Regarding the logo concept, I wanted to inject a sense of fun by depicting the character “Marie” sitting atop the word “arts,” emphasizing that I, as Marie, am involved in creative pursuits.

Furthermore, the looping animation showcasing the logo’s adaptation across various fields such as illustration, design, and animation was intended to underscore the core of my brand: versatility and proficiency across multiple artistic domains — all encapsulated under the umbrella of “arts.”

Although I’m content with the new logo concept, I believe there’s room for improvement. In comparison to the old logo, I find this one less memorable. While the concept itself is fun and memorable, I feel the design could be enhanced. I’m considering changing the character sitting on the text, simplifying it, and making it more reflective of my appearance.

Consistent Social Media and Email:

--

--