Creature

Theresa Marie
3 min readFeb 15, 2020

What is a creature? The definition of a monster is as follows, “an animal or person. As fellow creatures on this planet, animals deserve respect. A fictional or imaginary being, typically a frightening one. A creature from outer space. Anything living or existing. Dress, jewels, and other transitory creatures. A person of a specified kind, typically one viewed with pity, contempt, or desire. You heartless creature. A person or organization considered to be under the complete control of another. The village teacher is expecting to be the creature of his employer. Creature of habit. A person who follows an unvarying routine.”

Are we creatures? Yes, we are creatures according to the definition; however, we have something that animals do not have, and that is the ability to change our environment and be able to think and do for ourselves. I have started listening to this book called The 7 Habits Of Highly Effective People by Stephen R Covey. It is a powerful book to read and listen to because it is breaking down all of the bad mental habits that we are so accustomed to using from our upbringing. I know first hand about having bad mental habits because, for years, it has been a complete roller coaster ride with learning how to reprogram my thought process about God. I was brought up in a Baptist setting, but because of the trauma that I had encountered as a child, I couldn’t see the benefits of God in my life. I purposefully told myself as I got older that I would never go back to church because the church hurt me.

--

--

Theresa Marie

Someone appreciates everything about you that someone else took for granted.