An empty cage

Marilyne Lino
2 min readSep 18, 2023

There is an empty cage in my living room
The bunny that was once hopping happily within it, is no longer there
You have only been gone for a day
But I already miss you terribly

There was no overly excited hopping this morning
Nor any flapping, nor demand of cuddles
His way of greeting and showing affection
A bunny’s way of saying: good morning
I have missed you… my human
I am happy you’re back here with me

There is no veggie treat at lunch
No bunny kisses in return for a piece of carrot
No staring, followed by tugging at a water bottle
Followed by some more staring
It gets me every time
I know I am spoiling him too much
But I can’t resist
His cuteness
His sweetness
His demand for attention
So I help him drink by pressing his water bottle
He is not lazy, just impatient

There is no more cuddling up in the couch
while watching The Wheel of Time
No more brushing and petting time in the evening…

--

--