How To Tell If A Potential Client Is The Right Fit For Your Business

A three-step process to quickly decide who to work with

Marilyn Wo
6 min readDec 3, 2019
Photo by Mimi Thian on Unsplash

When I first begin my design freelance career in 2005, I didn’t think if there’s a right or wrong client to work with. I worked with anyone, both for a fee and for free as and when someone needs graphic design services.

As my experience with clients grew, I started to choose my clients based on my gut feeling and how I felt about the potential client. I didn’t use any quantifiable measure to certify we will work well together. So long that person has a nice personality and we have good chemistry, I took it as we are a good fit for each other.

In the early days, my sales process worked this way:

  1. Call with a potential client
  2. Manage expectations
  3. Reveal pricing
  4. We start work

Before starting the work itself, we would always jump on one or two calls to get to know each other better. I would figure out what was required and openly shared how I work. Like any freelance designer, I have my limitations and never hesitated to set those boundaries.

However, when work took off, things between myself and the clients became different from what I…

--

--

Marilyn Wo

3X top writer. Helping freelancers scale their service business without them. Start here -> https://verygoodproductizedguides.substack.com/