Adventure is out there — a week of unexpected travel.

Marina Cayla Alfonso
4 min readSep 27, 2018

Thankful for the opportunity to explore uncharted territory, to learn, and to connect with some of whom I miss deeply. A trip from Tampa to Detroit to CT and back again. In conjunction with a trip the windy city of Chicago, for justice, and in celebration of fall.

Greetings Detroit.
Me and my travel companion, pre-breakdown.
An unknown man who I admired. Sometimes its less burdensome to be unknown by those who pass by.
An electric blue bridge leaving Detroit.
A new found friend on the road from Detroit to Connecticut. He guards the sunflowers. Remembering the first sunflower I saw growing in a backyard.
After the morning fog has lifted. Post 14.36 mile run. Welcome to dad’s crib.
My kind of beach.
Me and my travel companion, post-breakdowns.

Documenting the scene in Connecticut.

A great representation of the simple, hard-working life.
Something about that tree.
I guess the water didn’t work on this plant.
I enjoy looking through the less common lenses.
A telephone or a hot dog truck handle? You decide.
The crooked house.
Reminds me of playing at the park as a kid.
There’s that sunflower again.
A burnt tree, but still standing. Reminding me of the giving tree.
My feet went with fall nicely.
FALL! Inspired by FALL.
The road ahead…
…is brighter than the road behind.

Chi Town

Nature puts me in awe.
And wonder. How does it grip so tight to brick?!
Sometimes your best self hides, waiting be enlivened by your best.
We don’t choose our road, rather we choose how we walk, run, and crawl along it.
I don’t know what compelled me to get so close to this spider. Probably because its web reminded me to steer clear of caffeine.
I want to be hoisted up by you.

September 22nd

A pair of almonds and a pair of waters. This minion helped me celebrate the first day of fall.
I stumbled upon the best kid’s book series.
I also stumbled upon a hand sketch in the library. Ambush.
Montauk anyone?
This backdrop reminded me of Arcade Fire’s first website.
Two sets of best friends on the bus.

Two nights in the city

This place made me laugh. That’s good for longevity.
I think this may have been a PSA to encourage nudity outside of the bathroom.
Hozier in concert. It was hard to sit through.
Wondering when time is going to be on our side.
My favorite instrument being played, the glockenspiel. My favorite kid in Chicago, dancing. His outfit looked like a space suit onsie and was covered in patches.
Found the Chicago riverwalk.
Found myself on the Marina.
Found Grandma in Chicago.
The white one’s mean returning… The headlights look like diamonds.
Goodnight Chicago

Signing off

“To the attentive eye, each moment of the year has its own beauty, and in the same field, it beholds, every hour, a picture which was never seen before, and which shall never be seen again.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson
Attentive eyes saying goodbye.

--

--

Marina Cayla Alfonso

Claiming Jesus as Lord. The Raw, Real, Marina, Cayla, Alfonso.