Down Syndrome Disease or Perfection?- A Beautiful Story

Mario Gonzalez
3 min readJul 28, 2020

--

One of the most beautiful things that have happened to me in life

Photo by Jessica West from Pexels

Some time ago a colleague from university who later would be one of my best friends invited me to his house to eat, I had the opportunity to meet his family, one of his 3 brothers got my attention. His older brother has Down Syndrome and is probably 35 years old.

I remember when we all started eating it was something strange or very different from the perspective I had about people who have this ability, someone who has known someone like him could be identified with this story

After several visits to my friend’s house I learned a lot about living with people who have this type of “disease”, the brothers always trying to be the older brother’s favorite, they were unique moments full of laughter, happiness and a lot of tranquility for the family. The whole family understood perfectly what the older brother wanted, they knew perfectly his gestures and his ways, despite the difficulty he had in communicating

Normally they had certain activities to pass the time, one day playing soccer it caught my attention that the other brothers including my friend always wanted to team up with the older brother and even fought with laughter at being the chosen one.

One day I asked my friend to tell me about his brother:

“One of the most beautiful things that have happened to me in life, is fun, fascinating, brilliant, kind, charming, cute, etc. people with Down Syndrome are great teachers it is not a disease it is not a disability, just because you read slowly or because you do not run fast does not mean that you have a disability, what I have learned is that disabilities are perceptions”

Some time ago I saw a video in which the father of a child with Down syndrome tells the story of how in a place to rent movies, a child asks his mother, What is Down syndrome to which the mother answers “ he is a person who knows nothing about anything ”.

Are they really people who know nothing? Is it really a disability? Is it really a disease?, I think it is a wrong perspective, they are human beings who do not know evil, with deep and pure feelings, he shows himself as he is without masks or harm, he does no harm to anyone, on the contrary, it is a fundamental part for the happiness of the family.

The main point of this is why call it “disease”, if you search for Down Syndrome you will find words with defect, disability, all regardless of whether we have ever hurt something or someone else, even if we say we are good people We have shown some evil towards our environment, then where is the disability.

A normal person takes more than ¾ of life trying to find the meaning of living, trying to pursue things that in the end will not be of great value to transmit it, losing the opportunity to live fully and happily, a person with Down Syndrome demonstrates superiority and perfection achieved from birth

--

--

Mario Gonzalez

Bachelor in Mechatronics-AI Enthusiastic- Writing About Life