Why I started my businesses

Marissa Fayer
3 min readJul 12, 2017

--

The question I am asked most frequently is “why did I start my businesses” with the follow-up implied explanation of why I left my accomplished and growing corporate life. Those questions are asked even more frequently than “what do I do”, “how is it going”, “how do I manage to juggle them all” or for any business advice.

The answer is easy….. because I wanted to. I wanted to have freedom, choices, options, and the ability to grow into areas/positions/the person I wanted to be. Am I there yet, no…. but I am a closer every single day. I have the freedom to pursue areas that I would never have thought of (working with early stage Medtech businesses on their strategy and connecting them to capital to fund their growth) and to choose clients I want to work with, instead of being haphazardly assigned something to work on. Clients that are making a difference, that are able to impact change, and that support me and my vision for the world. I am able to educate people about their health and wellness and allow them to make healthier choices, if they please to do so. I am able to start a global non-profit, HERHealthEQ, to help women and girls health and equality because that is my passion and the gift I want to leave the world with.

Let me be clear, it’s not easy, nor is it an easy choice to make. My decision came out of necessity, but it was the universe telling me it was time to start. I was meant for this life, and everything up to the point I started was preparing me. My corporate life was great, and I loved it! I was able to travel, learn, grow, and live in several countries. It taught be how to be a leader, and showed me the areas in which I wanted to do better and differently. And everything after taking the leap taught be how to be an entrepreneur, and now a multipreneur with several businesses.

The main thing I’ve learned is how to ask….. ask for business, ask for help, ask for the money I deserve, ask for new opportunities, ask to be part of the new-world gig-economy, ask to help others, ask to surround myself with the most supportive smart people I can find, and ask how to balance the work to be able to enjoy it and take the time I need for myself. No one ever succeeded by staying silent and keeping everything to themselves. The most successful people in the world know how to ask, so I’m just following in their footsteps.

This isn’t the be all, end all of my career, and I’m sure there will be many iterations along the way. It’s simply one step in the journey of life, and the journey of constant reinvention and learning. One that I’m excited and happy to be on, as each next step is an opportunity to do more, be more, and help more.

--

--

Marissa Fayer

Medtech exec & philanthropist working to create a healthier and wealthier world, CEO of HERHealthEQ, Pres of Fayer Consulting, Biz owner Arbonne Intl, traveler