Stray Video Game is a Rare Dystopian Masterpiece

A story that warms your heart as much as it makes it ache

Marissa Slack
10 min readJan 18, 2023
Screenshot from Stray chapter two: Dead City

Warning: Spoilers
If you haven’t played Stray yet and are looking to discover the storyline yourself, please play the game before reading this. Otherwise, read ahead for a look inside the astonishing world of Walled City 99.

This past October, I sat down to play Stray. Though I didn’t know what to expect, I was surprised to find myself laughing, crying, and having my breath taken away over a video game.

While playing, I fell in love with the stray cat, his companion B-12, and the robots within the city.

I haven’t been able to stop thinking about this game since I played it.

There aren’t excessive survival scenes, though the game is far from boring. The gameplay is mostly focused on the engrossing storyline the creators weave, making it perfect for gamers and non-gamers alike.

The landscapes are artistic marvels filled with vibrant colors and gorgeous lighting, and the storyline is incredible.

Inside the Wall

--

--

Marissa Slack

Cat Mom | Book Enthusiast | Published by The American Library of Poetry